Main Content

Medical Center faculty, staff shine in their professions

Published on Monday, April 17, 2023

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades place UMMC among health science centers worldwide.

Mann tapped for Graduate Medical Education leadership post

Portrait of Dr. Joshua Mann

Dr. Joshua Mann, professor and chair of the Department of Preventive Medicine, has been elected chair of the Preventive Medicine Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

ACGME accredits sponsoring institutions and residency and fellowship programs, confers recognition on additional program formats or components, and dedicates resources to initiatives addressing areas of importance in graduate medical education.

The committee, on which Mann has served as a member since 2020, provides accreditation guidance and makes accreditation determinations for residency programs in the three Preventive Medicine specialties of Aerospace Medicine, Occupational and Environmental Medicine and Public Health, and General Preventive Medicine. It consists of nine members, including representatives from each of the three specialty areas, a resident member and a lay member.

Mann’s term as committee chair begins July 1 and concludes June 30, 2025. He will also serve as a member of the ACGME Council of Review Committee Chairs (CRCC), which includes the chairs of all the other ACGME specialty review committees.

The CRCC meets biannually and recommends to the ACGME administration and the ACGME Board approaches to improve educational outcomes within and across clinical specialties, policies and procedures that guide accreditation, and other matters as charged by the ACGME administration or the ACGME Board.

Mann also directs the Office of Well-being, a stand-alone service area of UMMC, working to improve the well-being of all faculty, staff and students. He is currently principal investigator on a $3 million federal award allowing the Medical Center to develop tools and support for caregivers and other employees coping with challenges to their well-being wrought by the pandemic, and on a $1.9 million training grant that supports UMMC’s Preventive Medicine residency program.

—  —  —

MBJ names three UMMC employees to ‘Top 40 Under 40’

Portrait of Bridgett Bell
Portrait of Latasha Cox
Dylan Lindsay

Three Medical Center employees have been honored by the Mississippi Business Journal in its annual ‘Top 40 Under 40’ listing.

Bridgett Bell, a business partner in Human Resources; Latasha Cox, a project manager for advanced practice in the School of Nursing; and Dylan Lindsay, a clinical pharmacy specialist in the Department of Pharmacy Services’ Specialty Pharmacy Program Accreditation and Quality Management were chosen through a nomination process.

The listing recognizes business and civic leaders who have proven themselves as high achievers and trend setters, and who make significant contributions to economic progress at the state and local level. Winners come from a variety of industries, including health care, higher education and government.

Bell, Cox and Lindsay were honored during an April 13 luncheon, with a special issue of the magazine that carries the listing to follow.

—  —  —

UMMC pharmacists selected for honors

Two Medical Center pharmacists have been recognized by professional associations.

Portrait of Jameika Stuckey

Jameika Stuckey, Department of Pharmacy Services supervisor for patient care area pharmacists, has been named to the 2023 Rho Chi Society Alumni Honor Roll of Chi Chapter at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy.

She is one of 14 national winners for 2023 announced by Rho Chi.

Stuckey also serves as medication safety officer and is co-coordinator of the PGY-1 pharmacy residency program. Rho Chi is a pharmacy academic honor society; its chapters each year identify one alumnus who has advanced the pharmacy professional through intellectual leadership and the pursuit of excellence.

Dylan Lindsay, a clinical pharmacy specialist in Specialty Pharmacy Program Accreditation and Quality Management, was chosen to serve on the Patient Satisfaction Survey Expert Advisory Panel of the National Association of Specialty Pharmacy.

Lindsay and other panelists provided commentary on recent national trends in patient satisfaction data for specialty pharmacy programs utilizing a standard patient satisfaction survey developed by NASP. Their feedback will culminate in a white paper regarding national trends in patient satisfaction with specialty pharmacy services.