Main Content

More than 600 receive degrees at UMMC's 55th commencement

Published on Friday, May 27, 2011

Published in Press Releases on May 27, 2011 (PDF)
  • Photos of graduates are available upon request.

A total of 634 physicians, dentists, nurses, allied health professionals, and graduate students in the health sciences - the largest group of graduates in the Medical Center's history - were awarded degrees during the University of Mississippi Medical Center's 55th Commencement May 27 at the Mississippi Coliseum in Jackson.

University of Mississippi Chancellor Dan Jones and Dr. James Keeton, UMMC vice chancellor for health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, presided over the ceremony in which the following degrees were conferred:

  • in the School of Medicine, 118 graduates received the doctor of medicine (M.D.) degree;
  • in the School of Dentistry, 35 graduates earned the doctor of dental medicine (D.M.D.) degree;
  • in the School of Nursing, 121 graduates earned the bachelor of science in nursing (B.S.N.) degree and 44 earned the master of science in nursing (M.S.N.) degree;
  • in the School of Health Related Professions, 243 graduates received degrees - the doctorate in physical therapy (D.P.T.) was awarded to 63 graduates and the master's in occupational therapy (M.O.T.) was awarded to 36 graduates, while the bachelor of science (B.S.) degree was awarded to 21 in radiologic sciences, 21 in dental hygiene, 41 in clinical laboratory science, 43 in health science, 6 in cytotechnology, and 12 in health information management.
  • in the School of Graduate Studies in the Health Science, 26 graduates were presented the doctorate degree (Ph.D.) and 45 received the master of science (M.S.) degree.
  • two students earned both the M.D. and Ph.D.

The six students who received top honors were:

  • Erin Fortenberry of Gautier, who received the Waller S. Leathers Award for the medical student with the highest academic average for four years;
  • Lindsey Warner of Louisville, who received the Wallace V. Mann Award for the dental student with the highest academic average for four years;
  • Samuel Self of Madison, who received the Christine L. Oglevee Memorial Award as the outstanding School of Nursing baccalaureate graduate;
  • Jennifer Turner of Brandon, who received the Dr. Virginia Stansel Tolbert Award for the highest academic average in the School of Health Related Professions; and
  • Dexter Whitley of Jackson, who received the Charles Randall Award for outstanding research achievement.