About Us

Main Content


The Hembree Society is an honorary and service organization composed of four dental students from each class who rank in the top 25% of their classes and are chosen by members of each class. The society works to improve dental education by enhancing communication between students and those responsible for curricula modification, including faculty, Curriculum Committee and the dean. The Society's primary responsibility is to evaluate courses required in the preclinical and clinical years of dental school. The Hembree Society is named in honor of Dr. John H. Hembree, the second dean of the School of Dentistry. Dr. Hembree served as dean from 1987-92 and was one of the Medical Center's Billy S. Guyton Distinguished Professors from 1993-98.

The 2016 Hembree Honors Society winners, from left, are: Drs. Charles Ramsey, Wayne Caswell, Jennifer Bain, Fanasy Deming, Susan Warren, Ayman Asfour and William Boteler (not pictured: Dr. Andres Pappa).

Seven Hembree Society winners holding plaques.

D1-Basic Science All-Star - Susan Warren, PhD
D1-Clinical Science All-Star - Dr. Wayne Caswell, DDS

D2-Basic Science Professor of the Year - Dr. Ayman Asfour, MD
D2-Clinical Science Professor of the Year - Dr. Jennifer Bain, DMD

D3-Full-Time Clinical Science All-Star - Dr. Charles E. Ramsey, DMD
D3-Part-time Clinical Science All-Star - Dr. William Boteler, DDS

D4-Full-Time-Clinical Professor of the Year - Dr. Andres A. Pappa, DDS
D4-Part-Time Clinical Professor of the year - Dr. Fanasy P. Deming, DMD