About Us

Main Content

Internal Advisory Committee

The Internal Advisory Committee is comprised of outstanding scientists and clinicians of diverse interest from multiple institutions who assess progress and review the direction of the center on a regular basis.

Richard Summers, MD (Chair), Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Mississippi Medical Center. Dr. Summers' primary research interests include both basic science and clinical investigations in the area of cardiovascular disease. He is an expert in computer modeling and computational physiology.Summers, Richard - suit
Bettina Beech, DrPH, MPH, Dean, Bower School of Population Health Science and Professor of Population Health Science, Pediatrics, and Family Medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center. Dr. Beech's areas of scientific inquiry focus on the role of nutritional factors in the primary and secondary prevention of obesity and type 2 diabetes, with a particular focus on child health disparities. Beech, Bettina - suit
Tenton Gould, PhD, ATC, Dean, College of Health and Professor of Kinesiology, University of Southern Mississippi. Dr. Gould's areas of expertise include the brain injury of concussion, facial, and dental injury.  gould.jpg
Jane Reckelhoff, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology and Director, Women's Health Research Center, University of Mississippi Medical Center. Dr. Reckelhoff's research focuses on the mechanisms responsible for the sex differences in blood pressure control and renal disease, postmenopausal hypertension, and polycystic ovary syndrome. Reckenhoff, Jane - suit
Richard Roman, PhD, Billy Guyton Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Mississippi Medical Center. Dr. Roman is a translational investigator with interests in hypertension and diabetic chronic kidney disease.Roman, Richard
Sundeep Khosla, MD, Director, Center for Clinical and Translational Science, Mayo Clinic. Dr. Khosla's research focuses on the mechanisms of age-related bone loss, sex steroid regulation of bone metabolism, and the detrimental effects of diabetes mellitus on bone.sundeep.jpg.jpg
Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA, Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center. Dr. Butler is board-certified in cardiovascular medicine and advanced heart failure and transplant medicine. His research interests focus on clinical trails in patients with heart failure.220butlerjaved.jpg
John Kirwan, PhD, Executive Director, Pennington Biomedical Research Center. Dr. Kirwan is an internationally renowned obesity, diabetes, and nutrition scientist whose professional expertise includes over 30 years of research, teaching and service in the obesity and diabetes fields. Kirwan
Jinghe Mao, PhD, Professor of Biology, Dean of Natural Sciences, Tougaloo College. Dr. Mao led in the establishment of a genomic facility on Tougaloo's campus, and her research explores the lipidomic profile of normal, pre-diabetic, and diabetic patients of different races. Mao
Kimaka Bowens, MSN, FNP-C, President, Mississippi Gulf Coast Chapter, Black Nurses Rock. Ms. Bowens also serves on the MCCTR Community Advisory Board. k-mack_mcctr.jpg