About Us

Main Content

External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee is comprised of nationally recognized leaders in clinical and translational research who are experienced in leading large and complex research organizations.

mcctr---whelton,-paul.jpgPaul Whelton, MD, Tulane University
Chair in Global Public Health, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
mcctr---cushman,-william.jpgWilliam C. Cushman, MD, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Chief of Preventative Medicine
Professor of Preventative Medicine, Medicine, and Physiology
mcctr---eckel,-robert.jpgRobert H. Eckel, MD, University of Colorado, Denver
Professor and Chair of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes, and Cardiology
Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
Program Director, Adult General Clinical Research
mcctr---jones,-donald-lloyd.jpgDonald Lloyd Jones, MD/ScM, Northwestern University
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research
Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine
Director, Northwestern University Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute (NUCATS)
mcctr---lackland,-daniel.jpgDaniel T. Lackland, DrPH, Medical University of South Carolina
Associate Director for Research and Education, Stroke Division
Professor, Department of Neurosciences, Stroke Neurology Division, Stroke Epidemiology

Keith Ferdinand, MD, Tulane University School of Medicine
Gerald S. Berenson Chair in Preventive Cardiology
Professor, School of Medicine


Monica Baskin, PhD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Inaugural Vice Chair for Culture and Diversity, Department of Medicine
Associate Director for Community Outreach and Engagement, O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, Preventive Medicine