The Pillars

Main Content

The Pillars


The third annual presentation of The Pillars, institutional awards that honor individuals who have made meaningful contributions that broaden diversity and promote a climate of inclusion in the UMMC commUNITY and beyond.


Nominations open Oct. 7 and close Dec. 6, 2019. Click here for a nomination form, full descriptions of the awards categories and eligibility requirements.


An honoree will be selected from the following categories:

  • Excellence Award – Honors a student, resident, or fellow from any school of UMMC who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the institution’s goals to promote diversity and inclusion within the institution and through service to the commUNITY. 
  • Inclusion Award - Recognizes a full-time or part-time executive/administrative, professional, secretarial and clerical, service and maintenance, skilled crafts, or technical & paraprofessionals staff member that does not hold a faculty position who has shown outstanding leadership in expanding diversity and inclusion in the workplace.
  • Beacon Award - Honors any clinical or non-clinical faculty member with an academic designation or rank who demonstrates inclusive excellence in teaching, instruction, research, or clinical practice at UMMC.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award - Acknowledges an alumni who has made a significant contribution to improving health outcomes in diverse communities in the state of Mississippi. 
  • Inspiration Award – Recognizes a community member or an organization outside of UMMC that helps advance diverse and/or underrepresented communities through servant leadership in the areas of fairness and inclusion.
  • Esprit De Corps Award - Acknowledges a team, department, or office that demonstrates successful collaboration on efforts to improve outcomes of diverse communities in any of UMMC’s mission areas of education, research, and health care.

Honorees will be recognized at an awards presentation event Thursday, Jan. 30, 2020, in the Norman G. Nelson Student Union Ballroom. All UMMC faculty, students, and employees are invited to attend. For more information, email Mandy Scott, director of Diversity Assessment and Programs, or call (601) 815-7857.