School of Nursing

Main Content

Recent News Stories from the School of Nursing

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Nursing student Quinn Chandler inserts a nasogastric tube during a training exercise at the School of Nursing.

School of Nursing tops Mississippi rankings by U.S. News & World Report

Monday, September 26, 2022

Ranked 67th in the country, the School of Nursing is near the top 10 percent of baccalaureate nursing programs nationally. The ranking includes traditional and accelerated BSN programs at UMMC and the accelerated BSN program in Oxford, spotlighting the University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Nursing's work to become the state’s flagship nursing program. Read More

Brantley

Nursing white coat ceremony clinical education rite of passage

Monday, September 19, 2022

Juniors in the traditional BSN program at the School of Nursing at UMMC wore their white coats for the first time Tuesday. Now the 102 members of the School of Nursing’s Class of 2024 have stepped into the clinical part of their nursing education. Read More

UMMC faculty lauded for achievements

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades place UMMC among health science centers worldwide.

Published on Monday, September 12, 2022

Photos: UMMC students one step closer to health sciences careers

Whether they’re new or a fourth-year, learners at the Medical Center are on a journey that will take them through classrooms, labs, clinics and hospitals. Students in the schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Health Related Professions, Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences, Population Health and Pharmacy have started fall classes and taken the campus by storm.

Published on Monday, August 22, 2022

UMMC faculty members receive kudos

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades place UMMC among health science centers worldwide.

Published on Monday, August 22, 2022

Center for Telehealth, School of Nursing team up for school-based telehealth training

The UMMC Center for Telehealth and School of Nursing are working together to provide health care to more students in the state’s kindergarten-12th grade schools. The outreach, funded by a $17.6 million grant from the Mississippi Department of Education, will begin in Pearl, Yazoo County, Quitman and McComb school districts this week. Thirty more school districts will gain those services by Nov. 1.

Published on Monday, August 1, 2022

Medical Center faculty, staff reap recognitions

Published on Monday, July 25, 2022

‘The best day of my life’: Rural-focused outreach captivates the future hope of health care

Published on Monday, July 18, 2022

UMMC faculty members gather kudos

Published on Monday, July 11, 2022

‘Life-changing’ MSN courses begin May 31 for UMMC Bower scholars

Published on Monday, May 23, 2022

SON alums shine as change leaders, health care innovators

Published on Monday, May 16, 2022

UMMC nursing alumna to provide care in Ukraine

Published on Monday, May 9, 2022

#UMMCGrad2022: Disability brings understanding, School of Nursing graduate finds

Published on Monday, April 11, 2022

Holt honored with Nurse Practitioner Award for Excellence

Published on Monday, January 31, 2022

2022 Accelerated BSN enrollment ties 2021 record

Published on Monday, January 24, 2022

The size is right: Campus enrollment climbs

Published on Monday, November 15, 2021

AACN honors UMMC School of Nursing for school-based clinic partnerships

Published on Monday, November 1, 2021

Applications to schools amount to a ‘small miracle’

Published on Monday, October 11, 2021

School of Nursing graduate Patricia Dyre Kimble gives back by planning $1M gift

Published on Monday, September 27, 2021

Seven schools and six ways from Sunday: Students, faculty brazen out COVID surge

Published on Monday, August 16, 2021

Lanier clinic, School of Nursing win 2021 Governor’s Awards

Published on Monday, August 9, 2021

SON Alum of the Year: Nurses called to meet challenges of tomorrow

Published on Monday, June 7, 2021

#UMMCGrad2021: Critical care at heart for SON graduate

Published on Monday, May 17, 2021

Bower Foundation grant funds UMMC-trained nurse educators

Published on Monday, April 19, 2021

Allison Foundation gift nurtures nurses, patients' resilience

Published on Monday, April 5, 2021