2023 Pillars

Main Content

2023 Pillars Honorees

Click here to watch the awards presentation video that was released Thursday, Feb. 9, 2023.

Excellence Award - Student/Trainee Category

  • Honoree - Anna Sabrina DeLeon, MD, Department of Psychiatry & Human Behavior
  • Honorable Mention - Hanna Glenn, School of Medicine, Class of 2024; Eric D. Lucas, Jr., School of Medicine, Class of 2024; Haley Williams, School of Medicine, Class of 2025

The Excellence Award honors a student, resident, or fellow from any school of UMMC who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the institution’s goals to promote diversity and inclusion within the institution and through service to the commUNITY.

Inclusion Award - Staff Category

  • Honoree - Irene Arguello, Institutional Review Board
  • Honorable Mention - Ellen Hansen, Children's of Mississippi; Venessia Randle, School of Dentistry

The Inclusion Award recognizes a full-time or part-time executive/administrative, professional, secretarial and clerical, service and maintenance, skilled crafts, or technical & paraprofessionals staff member that does not hold a faculty position who has shown outstanding leadership in expanding diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

Beacon Award - Faculty Category

  • Honoree - Roberto Santos, MD, Department of Pediatrics
  • Honorable Mention - Kimberly Bibb, MD, Department of Family Medicine; Audwin Fletcher, PhD, School of Nursing; Lisa Haynie, PhD, School of Nursing

The Beacon Award honors any clinical or non-clinical faculty member with an academic designation or rank who demonstrates inclusive excellence in teaching, instruction, research, or clinical practice at UMMC.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Alumni Category

  • Honoree - Mary Currier Mallette, MD, Department of Preventive Medicine 

The Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges an alumni who has made a significant contribution to improving health outcomes in diverse communities in the state of Mississippi and beyond. 

Esprit De Corps Award - Team, Department or Office Category

  • Honoree - UMMC Insight Team, Department of Psychiatry & Human Behavior 
  • Honorable Mention - Department of Medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology; TORPEDO Project, Departments of Dermatology, Otolaryngology, and Orthopedics

The Esprit De Corps Award acknowledges a team, department, or office that demonstrates successful collaboration on efforts to improve outcomes of diverse communities in any of UMMC's mission areas of education, research, and health care.

Inspiration Award - Community Category

  • Honoree - Amerigroup Mississippi

The Community Inspiration Award recognizes a community member or an organization that helps advance diverse and/or underrepresented communities through servant leadership in the areas of fairness and inclusion.