School of Medicine

Main Content

Recent News Stories from the School of Medicine

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

New residents Dr. Patrick Wood and Dr. Kelsey Bounds attend orientation at UMMC.

Residents, welcome to your new life – beginning today

Monday, July 1, 2019

Today marks a change in the path of medical education for UMMC's almost 200 new residents and fellows. It’s a milestone in their presence at clinic visits, surgeries and other medical procedures; except this time around, they are more responsible for patients than in their previous learning phases. After a welcome party and hopefully a little sleep, they’re ready to begin. Read More

Huddling around Family Medicine's visual management board are, from left, Sondra Green, Alicia Hall, Cathy Kirkpatrick, Reagan Rayborn, Connye Henry and Lyndsey Carlton.

Visual management boards give frontline staff care solutions forum

Monday, June 10, 2019

UMMC's family medicine staff have found a tool to help improve care and efficiency. Visual management boards - marker boards about three feet long placed on a clinic wall - are physically simple. But they provide a road map of staff-generated fresh ideas for patient care, with a means of tracking the ideas to their ultimate implementation. Read More

UMMC confers 853 degrees in health sciences professions

The University of Mississippi Medical Center on Friday conferred degrees to 853 students who are beginning their careers in the health sciences, or entering into a new chapter of an existing one in this state and beyond.

Published on Friday, May 24, 2019

Gold Humanism celebrates 'other half' of being a doctor

If you were a physician, who would you want taking care of you and your family? That question is answered every year by medical students who are asked to nominate their peers, as well as residents, for induction into the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Published on Thursday, May 16, 2019

Medical school dream no longer haunts ground-breaking student

As a member of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, Christina Wallace enjoys a culture bound together by long-held traditions. Now she wants to start a new one – by becoming a physician.

Published on Monday, April 8, 2019

Adult congenital heart program receives coveted national accolade

Heart disease is the leading cause of death nationally for most ethnicities. But no matter how complex the disease, adult congenital heart patients can trust UMMC's expertise: The Medical Center is one of just 29 ACH programs to be accredited as Comprehensive Care Centers by the Adult Congenital Heart Association.

Published on Thursday, April 4, 2019

Video: Med students meet their Match on one of 'best days of the year’

Published on Monday, March 18, 2019

Run-and-gun mentor: In academic medicine, Brodell runs full-court press

Published on Monday, March 11, 2019

Video: ENT students, staff give back to Mississippi Food Network

Published on Monday, February 11, 2019

Thriving after heart transplant, tragic fire, Gabbi Smith turns 1

Published on Thursday, January 17, 2019

Student-led food drive diverts surplus to soup kitchen

Published on Thursday, January 10, 2019

UMMC growing its robotic surgery program and necessary expertise

Published on Monday, January 7, 2019

The best things in life – liver transplants included - are worth the wait

Published on Thursday, January 3, 2019

Sepsis study’s design “future” of clinical trials

Published on Thursday, December 27, 2018

New program teaches kids to stop, think before making risky decisions

Published on Thursday, December 20, 2018

Primary defection: Young adults choose convenience over commitment

Published on Monday, December 17, 2018

Two frames of mind: State Hall of Fame dedicates Guyton, Hardy portraits

Published on Thursday, December 13, 2018

Surgery offers new outlook for children facing head, face deformities

Published on Monday, December 10, 2018

Poise in the wilderness: Students scout out rescue, life-saving skills

Published on Monday, December 10, 2018

Photos: Test-laden med students lighten mood with Hawaiian shirt contest

Published on Thursday, November 29, 2018

#WomenWhoCurie highlights female radiation oncologists

Published on Monday, November 19, 2018

Anatomy of a survey: As ‘Grey’s’ turns 15, medicos dissect TV shows

Published on Monday, November 12, 2018

Microbiology meeting embraces more disciplines, young scientists

Published on Thursday, November 8, 2018

Annual awards ceremony recognizes research achievements

Published on Thursday, October 25, 2018

Addiction psychiatrist expanding treatment for opioid use disorder

Published on Thursday, October 11, 2018