People-of-the-U

Main Content

People of the U News

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Karla Dukes is the front desk registrar in University Physicians Surgical Specialties Clinic.

People of the U: Karla Dukes

Monday, June 6, 2022

When Karla Dukes takes on a responsibility or task, she's all in. Dukes is committed to giving 100 percent to what she does in her work area, and when she trains new employees at the University Physicians Surgical Specialties Clinic, she makes sure they know that's their expectation, too. Read More

Kim King, a customer service representative at University Physicians Pavilion, has worked at UMMC eight years.

People of the U: Kimberlee King

Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Since rejoining the workforce after raising her four children, Kimberlee King has put her people skills and caring spirit to good use as a customer service representative at UMMC, where she has made a lasting impression on patients, visitors and fellow employees. Read More

People of The U: Lauren Burch

When Lauren Burch cares for her patients, she knows how they feel during a medical crisis. The School of Nursing graduate became an RN while battling cancer.

Published on Monday, May 2, 2022

People of The U: Dr. Tawana Tucker

Serving America and our country’s veterans is woven into the fabric of Dr. Tawana Tucker’s career. These days, she is balancing her post as Health Promotion Disease Prevention program manager at Veterans Affairs Medical Center, serving as a major in the U.S. Army Reserve, and studying at UMMC to become a family nurse practitioner.

Published on Monday, April 4, 2022

People of the U: Dr. Osman Athar

Only a year-and-a-half on the job, Dr. Osman Athar has already made a name for himself at the Medical Center. He is an award-winning teacher in a field whose patients are often stained with reproach by others, including, at a time not so long ago, Athar himself.

Published on Monday, March 21, 2022

People of the U: Stacy Vance

Stacy Vance, professor of health related professions, is also a sheriff’s deputy who fights crime with the same vigilance with which she has fought to overcome two kidney transplants and three years of dialysis.

Published on Monday, March 14, 2022

People of the U: Mary Carr

Published on Monday, February 28, 2022

People of the U: De’jai Nichols

Published on Monday, February 28, 2022

People of the U: Kisa Harris

Published on Saturday, February 26, 2022

People of the U: Black Representation in Medicine

Published on Saturday, February 26, 2022

People of the U: Student National Dental Association

Published on Saturday, February 26, 2022

People of the U: Miracle Buckley

Published on Friday, February 25, 2022

People of the U: Alexcia Carr

Published on Thursday, February 24, 2022

People of the U: Kimberlee Daniels

Published on Wednesday, February 23, 2022

People of the U: Mark Gilbert

Published on Tuesday, February 22, 2022

People of the U: Denise Cornelius

Published on Monday, February 21, 2022

People of the U: Da’Varius Jackson

Published on Friday, February 18, 2022

People of the U: Benita Spann

Published on Thursday, February 17, 2022

People of the U: Charles Patton

Published on Wednesday, February 16, 2022

People of the U: Candie Simmons

Published on Tuesday, February 15, 2022

People of the U: Jan Williams

Published on Monday, February 14, 2022

People of the U: Loretta Jackson-Williams

Published on Friday, February 11, 2022

People of the U: LaDonna Northington

Published on Thursday, February 10, 2022

People of the U: Jasmine and Fred Kency

Published on Wednesday, February 9, 2022

People of the U: Juanyce Taylor

Published on Tuesday, February 8, 2022