People-of-the-U

Main Content

People of the U News

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Amanda McCullough is lead laboratory technologist at UMMC Grenada.

People of the U: Amanda McCullough

Thursday, April 15, 2021

Amanda McCullough is a fixture in UMMC Grenada’s laboratory, working at a job she loves. Her ties to the hospital are deep: She received pre- and post-transplant care at UMMC Grenada’s abdominal transplant clinic in her quest for a new kidney. McCullough is celebrating Donate Life Month as she marks the six-month anniversary of her transplant. Read More

Melody Longino is manager of ambulatory operations at the UMMC School of Dentistry.

People of the U: Melody Longino

Wednesday, April 7, 2021

Whether they’re getting new set of dentures or a regular teeth-cleaning, patients in the School of Dentistry clinics stand a good chance of seeing Melody Longino, manager of SOD clinics. She’s a constant presence, helping patients to navigate the system and trouble-shooting to make sure that their needs are met. Read More

People of the U: Hieu Vuong

Hieu Vuong stands out in the School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program for a number of reasons: He’s calm under pressure, uses his background in competitive sports to problem-solve, and doesn’t mind being singled out during a lecture when his teacher needs someone to role-play. Oh, and he’s also the only guy pursuing that degree.

Published on Wednesday, March 31, 2021

People of the U: Vani Vijayakumar

Dr. Vani Vijayakumar’s experience years ago as a hospitalized patient affected her conduct as a physician, she said, making her a better listener and even more sympathetic to those under her care. Her commitment to meeting their needs inspired her to secure for the Medical Center a new treatment that can prolong a cancer’ patient’s life.

Published on Thursday, February 25, 2021

People of the U: Doug Craft

It takes a crew with an able leader to perform the groundskeeping needed on a campus that sprawls over close to 200 acres - and don't forget the Veterans Memorial Stadium parking lot. Doug Craft and his four groundskeepers strive to make the Medical Center a safe and beautiful place to work and visit.

Published on Wednesday, February 10, 2021

People of the U: Tara Madison

During “ordinary” times, Tara Madison manages a department that is charged with one of the most important – and hectic – responsibilities on campus. But these are certainly not ordinary times.

Published on Wednesday, January 27, 2021

People of the U: Laron Trigg

Published on Wednesday, November 18, 2020

People of the U: Miranda Magee

Published on Wednesday, November 4, 2020

People of the U: Josh Warren

Published on Wednesday, September 23, 2020

People of the U: Lucy Varela-Quintero

Published on Wednesday, September 16, 2020

People of the U: Dan Coleman

Published on Thursday, September 3, 2020

People of the U: Kayla Taylor

Published on Wednesday, September 2, 2020

People of the U: Rosalind Williams

Published on Wednesday, September 2, 2020

People of the U: Dr. Dave and Dr. Laura Vearrier

Published on Wednesday, September 2, 2020

People of the U: Caleb Zumbro

Published on Wednesday, August 5, 2020

People of the U: Casey Spell

Published on Wednesday, July 29, 2020

People of the U: Kim Horn

Published on Wednesday, July 22, 2020

People of the U: Val McClora

Published on Wednesday, July 15, 2020

People of the U: Richard Waite

Published on Wednesday, July 1, 2020

People of the U: Corinne Sampson and Alyssa Bradford

Published on Wednesday, June 17, 2020

People of the U: Katie Smith

Published on Wednesday, June 17, 2020

People of the U: Kaleigh Reynolds

Published on Monday, June 8, 2020

People of the U: Caroline Murray

Published on Monday, June 8, 2020

People of the U: Nathalie Jones

Published on Monday, April 13, 2020

People of the U: Michelle Crawford

Published on Wednesday, March 4, 2020