About Department of Medicine

Members of the 2020 Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Members of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Main Content

Diversity and Inclusion


To promote diversity, equity, and inclusion within our department, institution, and community.  


We aim to create and foster a community that allows all people to thrive and prosper. Our goal is to advance equity and inclusion for every aspect of human difference, including but not limited to socioeconomic status, race, ethnicity, language, nationality, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, geography, disability, and age. We strive to maintain a culture that celebrates diversity in order to create a workplace that reflects the communities we serve.  

Diversity and Inclusion Committee  

  • Myrna Alexander Nickens, MD, Chair 
  • Elizabeth Paine, MD, Secretary 
  • Amanda Clark, MD 
  • Jessie Harvey, MD 
  • Demondes Haynes, MD 
  • Rahat Noor, MD 
  • Charletta Scott-Bennett, MD 
  • Jose Subauste, MD 
  • Calvin Thigpen, MD 
  • Prakhar Vijayvargiya, MD
  • Richard Wells, MD 

If you find areas that have room for improvement related to diversity, equity, and inclusion or if you would like to join the committee, please reach out to any of us and let us know.