• DeptPhoto-2014
  • What's New

    Seminars and Lectures:
    Regulation of Neutrophil and Macrophage Polarization Following Myocardial Infarction
    Dr. Yonggang Ma

    Please click here for more information

    Congratulations to John Henry Dasinger- a finalist for the Water & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section Predoctoral Recognition Award at the upcoming Experimental Biology Meeting.
    Congratulations to Ashley Newsome- the recipient of a Caroline tum Suden Award and a Minority Travel Award to attend the upcoming Experimental Biology Meeting. 



  • Physiology and Biophysics

    Welcome to the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. Our primary mission is to maintain the highest possible level of productivity and excellence in education, research and service programs to the University of Mississippi Medical Center and to the national and international scientific community.

    The department has a long and proud history of achievements in education, research and service. Some of these achievements for the past year are summarized in our recent newsletter.

    Our research programs use an integrative approach to study cardiovascular, renal, neuroendocrine and metabolic systems in health and in various diseases. The department currently enjoys strong extramural research funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and various professional organizations such as the American Heart Association (AHA).

    Our education programs include training for undergraduate, medical, dental and graduate students as well as postdoctoral fellows. The graduate program has a strong emphasis on research and on integrating whole animal physiology with genetics, molecular and cellular biology. Our graduate program has outstanding mentoring and provides highly qualified students the opportunity to obtain a PhD or MD/PhD degree.

    Department faculty members have served in major leadership positions for national and international organizations such as the American Physiological Society, the American Heart Association, the Council on Hypertension of the AHA, NIH, the International Society of Hypertension, and the Inter-American Society of Hypertension.

    Please browse through our web site to find more information on the research, education and service activities of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics.