Cancer Institute

Main Content

Recent News Stories from Cancer and the Cancer Institute

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Growth, improved services highlight CCRI year

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

The UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute expanded, improved services to patients, increased research efforts and received public notice of its efforts in 2019. Read More

Cynthia Lewis, center, a UMMC cancer patient, shares a laugh with Janice Johnson, left, and Cassie King.

UMMC, CCRI provide custom wigs, makeovers to cancer patients

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Women coping with cancer often lose their hair, an identifiable attribute that could bring them joy. Four patients at the UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute were treated to a new custom wig and makeover in a venture to help them heal, courtesy of a caring UMMC employee and a generous foundation. Read More

Efforts to increase colorectal cancer screening in MS yield positive results

Fewer Mississippians are getting colorectal cancer, fewer are dying from it and more say they’re being screened, 70x2020 Colorectal Cancer Screening Initiative members were told at a recent annual meeting. The grassroots effort has resulted in communities choosing dozens of ways to deliver the screening message.

Published on Thursday, December 5, 2019

Cancer programs add cardio-oncology services for patients at risk

Some therapies and new drugs may put cancer patients at greater risk of heart problems. The cardio-oncology program at UMMC works with patients who enter cancer care with cardiac risk or conditions, as well as those who receive cancer therapies that may increase their risk of heart issues.

Published on Monday, November 11, 2019

Breast cancer screenings can save lives

UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute experts say detecting breast cancer early is key to surviving the disease, but a lack of insurance coverage can be a barrier to care. During Breast Cancer Awareness Month, mammograms are helping women get the screenings they need.

Published on Monday, October 21, 2019

UMMC surgeons take on new roles

UMMC surgeons take on new roles

Published on Thursday, September 19, 2019

Hilal joins CCRI hematology team

Published on Thursday, September 19, 2019

Robotic device gives surgeons more flexibility to treat head, neck cancers

Published on Monday, September 9, 2019

Stefanek joins CCRI

Published on Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Implant recall leaves many with questions about their health, safety

Published on Tuesday, August 27, 2019

New division to expand genetic testing as a health care force

Published on Monday, August 12, 2019

U.S. News lists UMMC's cancer program among tops in nation

Published on Monday, August 5, 2019

UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute boasts new name, strong goals

Published on Monday, April 22, 2019

SON, NIH team up to reduce cervical cancer in Mississippi

Published on Thursday, April 11, 2019

Hope Lodge goal: Patients more focused on their cancer fight

Published on Thursday, March 28, 2019

Maihle joins UMMC Cancer Institute

Published on Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Touching base daily by telehealth helps BMT patients recover more quickly

Published on Monday, March 25, 2019

Jeopardy! competitor, UMMC experts lend perspective to host's diagnosis

Published on Monday, March 11, 2019

Stem cell donation is start of Staursky’s overall plan

Published on Tuesday, February 12, 2019