Cancer Institute

Main Content

Recent News Stories from Cancer and the Cancer Institute

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Jeopardy! competitor, UMMC experts lend perspective to host's diagnosis

Monday, March 11, 2019

Karen Bascom recently achieved a lifetime goal: In January, the Public Affairs editor-writer was a contestant on “Jeopardy!” Then came the devastating news that the quiz show's host, Alex Trebek, had been diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer. Bascom and the Jeopardy! community are rooting for Trebek, who vows to fight his disease. Read More

Dr. Shou-Ching Tang talks to Barry Kelly while Teresa Witcher, clinical trials nurse, prepares Kelly's infusion.

Opening Phase 1 adult cancer trials offers patients more options

Monday, February 25, 2019

UMMC is among four sites nationally where a new trial drug, which may affect several types of cancers, is being offered to adult patients whose cancer has not responded to standard therapies. Read More

Stem cell donation is start of Staursky’s overall plan

Donating stem cells is only part of Dorothea Staursky’s overall plan.

Published on Tuesday, February 12, 2019

New committee’s goal: Improve cancer care through communication

Leaders of multiple cancer programs and hospital administrative services that make up the Clinical Leadership Council meet monthly to iron out problems, set standards and map a path to excellence for their patients. The group also is instrumental in helping prioritize budget needs of cancer programs.

Published on Monday, December 17, 2018

Ruckdeschel named to Lung Roundtable

ruckdeschel_john_web.jpgDr. John Ruckdeschel, University of Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Institute director, has been named to the National Lung Cancer Roundtable.

Published on Friday, November 30, 2018

Gibert joins UMMC Cancer Institute

gilbert_yann.jpgDr. Yann Gibert has joined the University of Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Institute as an associate professor in the CI Cancer Molecular Biology Program and as an associate professor in the UMMC Department of Cell and Molecular Biology.

Published on Friday, November 30, 2018

Limits on e-cigarette sales to teens aid nicotine addiction battle

Published on Thursday, November 29, 2018

#WomenWhoCurie highlights female radiation oncologists

Published on Monday, November 19, 2018

UMMC experts: Raising recommended HPV vaccine age range could save lives

Published on Thursday, October 18, 2018

Medical Center among ELP research, patent leaders

Published on Monday, October 1, 2018

Morgan joins lung, GI cancer teams

Published on Wednesday, September 26, 2018

American Cancer Society honors Ruckdeschel with St. George Award

Published on Friday, September 21, 2018

Procedure eases complications related to fluid around lungs

Published on Thursday, August 23, 2018

Dr. Laura Newman treats young hematology, oncology patients at alma mater

Published on Thursday, August 16, 2018

Mohs surgery leaves few signs of melanoma

Published on Monday, August 6, 2018

Collier to head Children’s Cancer Center

Published on Thursday, July 12, 2018

Children's Cancer Center sees growth, anticipates changes

Published on Monday, July 9, 2018

Colorectal cancer experts embrace ACS call for earlier screening

Published on Monday, June 4, 2018

UMMC employee donates stem cells to perhaps save a life

Published on Thursday, May 31, 2018

CI leader participates in cancer discussion at Vatican

Published on Monday, May 21, 2018

New process shortens time to breast reconstruction

Published on Thursday, May 3, 2018

Oral cancer patient fights to earn 'Survivor' title

Published on Monday, April 16, 2018

Medicine chair urges DOM researchers to support clinical trials

Published on Thursday, April 12, 2018

UMMC researcher asks colleagues to heed screening call

Published on Thursday, March 22, 2018

Jefferson to lead Head and Neck cancer program

Published on Thursday, March 22, 2018