Academic Affairs

Click the links below to find more information:

/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944UMMC Match Day 2016Mannings for Health
  • Regions Bank TEACH Prize

    Initiated in 2013, the Regions Bank TEACH (Toward Educational Advancement in Care and Health) Prize celebrates the highest qualities of our teaching faculty. The winner receives a cash award of $10,000 and recognition at the luncheon honoring Nelson Order inductees.

    TEACH Prize 2015The recipient of the 2015 Regions Bank TEACH Prize was announced on May 12 at a formal recognition luncheon.  

    The 2015 Regions Bank TEACH Prize awardee is Mary Stewart, PhD, RN, Professor of Nursing and Director of both the PhD Program and Accreditation in the School of Nursing.  

    Previous Regions Bank TEACH Prize winners include:

    • 2013 - Dr. Kimberly Simpson, associate professor of neurobiology and anatomical sciences
    • 2014 - Dr. Ian Paul, professor of psychiatry and human behavior, director of the Graduate Program in Neuroscience and director of the Animal Behavioral Core

    How is the TEACH Prize awarded?

    Faculty recipients of the Norman C. Nelson Order of Teaching Excellence are eligible for the Regions Bank TEACH Prize. Both share the same criteria. An outstanding educator should demonstrate excellence in:

    • Delivering innovative teaching methods
    • Engaging and inspiring students
    • Conveying accurate, contemporary knowledge
    • Setting clear, appropriate expectations for professional behaviors
    • Guiding and mentoring students

    Each school has an existing process for nomination that begins with student selection of the Nelson Order awardees for that year.  Twenty new members of the Nelson Order are selected each year.  The call for nominations for 2016 will be announced on February 1, 2016.  Additional nominations can be made by emailing Dr. Rob Rockhold, Deputy Chief Academic Officer, at

    Working with each school's faculty, the dean of each school will then select, with the input of their faculty, one nominee from their school's Nelson Order whom they feel best exemplifies the Regions Bank TEACH Prize criteria, for a total of six finalists for the Regions Bank TEACH Prize. 

    The Medical Center Faculty Development Committee and the officers of the Associated Student Body will review a statement of teaching philosophy from these six finalists, along with their curriculum vitae. A vote of this group will determine the winner of the 2016 Regions Bank TEACH Prize.

    The Nelson Order recipients and the TEACH Prize winner will be announced at a luncheon in May of 2016. All recipients will be honored publicly at the 2016 commencement ceremonies.