Cardiorenal and Metabolic Diseases Research Center

Main Content

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) is internationally recognized group of clinical and basic scientists with expertise in obesity, cardiorenal and metabolic disease research. They provide a written assessment of the center each year and recommendations to the Executive Committee.


Richard J. Johnson, MD, is chief of the Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension at the University of Colorado. Dr. Johnson is nationally and internationally renowned for his work on mechanisms of renal injury and progression, including in glomerulonephritis, diabetes and hypertension.


Michael J. Joyner, MD, is the Frank R. and Shari Caywood Professor of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic, where he was named a Distinguished Investigator in 2010. Dr. Joyner is widely recognized for his research on cardiovascular regulation in humans, the physiology of world records, autonomic regulation of blood glucose and clinical transfusion practices.

Lilach O. Lerman, MD, PhD., is the Arthur M. and Gladys D. Gray Professor of Medicine and of Physiology at Mayo Clinic. She is also the Director of the Renovascular Research Laboratory, Head of the Nephrology Research Unit, and Head of the Regenerative Nephrology Unit in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at Mayo Clinic. She has been involved in translational hypertension research, development of animal models, and development of renal and cardiovascular imaging techniques for over 30 years. 


L. Gabriel Navar, PhD, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Physiology and Co-Director of the Renal and Hypertension Center at Tulane University, School of Medicine in New Orleans, LA. Dr. Navar has made major contributions to the fields of renal physiology, the renin-angiotensin system and hypertension.