Two ophthalmologists examine a patient
Main Content

Department of Ophthalmology

The UMMC Department of Ophthalmology was established in 1955 as a division under the Department of Surgery. We became an independent department in 1987. Currently, our faculty consists of 11 full-time faculty and one part-time faculty at UMMC and two full-time and two part-time VA staff. There are 16 residents in our residency training program.

The Department of Ophthalmology has grown at a rapid pace. The number of faculty members, residents and supporting staff has increased tremendously. We have more than tripled the variety of eye diseases seen, the number of patients handled, the scope of consultation services provided, and the quantity of cutting-edge clinical researches produced by our department. In parallel with growth in services and research, the number and variety of diagnostic, research and therapeutic equipment have also grown enormously.

We aim to be one of the best and most well-rounded programs in the nation, providing:
  • Outstanding teaching and education in the specialty of ophthalmology and visual science;
  • The best ophthalmologic care in various subspecialty areas for patients in and out of the state of Mississippi;
  • Superb consultation services for general eye care professionals in and out of the state of Mississippi;
  • Opportunities for ophthalmologic research in clinical and basic science settings;
  • Exemplary leadership in ophthalmology throughout the state and nation.
Roya Attar, OD
UMMC Optometrist Named
AOA Young Optometrist of the Year
Dr. Roya Attar
The American Optometric Association recently named Dr. Attar, an assistant professor of ophthalmology at UMMC, the nation’s Young Optometrist of the Year.