Student Programs

Main Content

Family Medicine Interest Group

Our student Family Medicine Interest Group meets for lunch on the first Wednesday of each month and is usually sponsored by community hospitals, local family physicians, and others who are interested in encouraging students to pursue a career in family medicine.

FMIG uses money generated by fundraising efforts to send students to various conferences and to support philanthropic efforts. By providing lunch for FMIG meetings, these kind donations make it possible for students to interact with the representatives from the various sponsors, thus exposing them to opportunities in family medicine that are different from those found in an academic institution.

Our interest group has repeatedly won the Program of Excellence Award from the AAFP and has been involved in a plethora of community service activities, including the Jackson Free Clinic and the Ronald McDonald House.

On the second Wednesday of each month, FMIG officers meet to conduct the business of the chapter. Topics often include potential speakers and sponsors for monthly lunch meetings, service project ideas, clinical skills workshops and planning for the annual recruitment fair and banquet.

Additional support for our meetings also comes from the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians. In addition to being one of our lunch meeting sponsors, the Academy also sponsors a booth at the annual residency fair. A huge asset to our recruiting efforts, the MAFP pays the AAFP membership dues for each student who also joins FMIG. Officers also participate in the annual MAFP meeting in Destin, Fla.

2018-19 officers

  • President - Will Casey, M4
  • Vice president - Van-Vi Le, M4
  • Secretary - Falan McKnight, M4
  • Treasurer - Garry "Sonny" Hodge, M4
  • Events coordinators - Hannah Barrett, M4; Ethan Collier, M3;  Torey Krause, M4
  • Community service chairs: Michelle Wheeler, M4; Thomas Ricks, M4; Wisam Beauti, M2
  • M4 representative - Regan Maxwell, Maribeth Hillhouse
  • M3 representative - Charlie Dean, Jackson Browning
  • M2 Representative - Jordan Jackson, Weston Eldridge
  • M1 Representative - Shelby Swede

Click here for national FMIG information.