doctor demonstrates anesthesia technique for students
Main Content

Department of Anesthesiology

The Department of Anesthesiology is dedicated to educating future anesthesiologists and health care providers in Mississippi and across the nation. The department's ACGME-accredited training programs for physicians are designed to create qualified and highly competent expert consultants in anesthesiology and pain medicine.

The department’s goals are threefold:

  • Providing state-of-the-art patient care in areas of perioperative medicine, critical care and pain management;
  • Providing the highest quality of undergraduate and postgraduate medical education; 
  • Making major contributions to the science of anesthesiology and expanding the body of basic and applied science knowledge through research.

The Department of Anesthesiology offers a four-year residency training program and is approved for 38 residencies. It is designed as a competency-based program with a systematic progression of key learning goals and milestones. The program is committed to educating anesthesiology residents who are knowledgeable in the science of anesthesia, skilled in their craft, and able to serve as expert consultants in the field of perioperative medicine.