SOM Accreditation

Main Content

Accreditation Standards

Accreditation of a medical education program is based on 12 standards. Each standard comprises six to 12 elements for a total of 93 elements. A detailed description of the standards along with their associated elements is found in Functions and Structure of a Medical School: Standards for Accreditation of Medical Education Programs Leading to the MD Degree.

The 12 standards are:

  • Mission, Planning, Organization, and Integrity
  • Leadership and Administration
  • Academic and Learning Environments
  • Faculty Preparation, Productivity, Participation, and Policies
  • Educational Resources and Infrastructure
  • Competencies, Curricular Objectives, and Curricular Design
  • Curricular Content
  • Curricular Management, Evaluation, and Enhancement
  • Teaching, Supervision, Assessment, and Student and Patient Safety
  • Medical Student Selection, Assignment, and Progress
  • Medical Student Academic Support, Career Advising, and Educational Records
  • Medical Student Health Services, Personal Counseling, and Financial Aid Services