Main Content

Neurology chair emeritus, comparative research director, internal medicine expert earn national, statewide acclaim

Published on Thursday, April 13, 2017

Published on April 13, 2017

UMMC's chair emeritus of neurology receives a distinguished service award from a neuro-ophthalmology organization, the Center for Comparative Research director is chosen to lead an international accreditation council, and an assistant professor of medicine is selected to head a state chapter of a national internists organization.  

NANOS honors retired faculty with career service award


Dr. James Corbett, chair emeritus and McCarty Professor of Neurology, recently received the 2017 North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society (NANOS) Distinguished Service Award.

A member of NANOS since 1978, Corbett served on the NANOS board from 1985-96 and made more than 200 NANOS presentations, including teaching sessions, platforms and posters. He was honored for establishing a robust neurology residency at UMMC, enhancing the teaching of neurology and inspiring many careers in the field.

A professional organization of more than 600 fully trained ophthalmologists or neurologists, NANOS promotes neuro-ophthalmology by supporting all forms of education, encouraging research, fostering the clinical enterprise and maintaining cordial exchanges.



AAALAC council elects research director to top post


Dr. Andrew Grady, director of the Center for Comparative Research, has been elected president of the AAALAC International Council on Accreditation for 2017-18.

A veterinarian, Grady oversees UMMC's laboratory animal care and use program, which has had AAALAC accreditation since 1997. In 2016, he received the Meritorious Research Service Award at the UMMC Excellence in Research ceremony for his dedication to humane animal-based research.

Grady has been an active member of the Council on Accreditation since 2004. In 2015, he was elected the council's vice president and has served as president pro tempore since 2016. As council president, he also will serve on AAALAC International's Board of Directors.

Formerly known as the American Association for Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care, AAALAC International is a nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs. The Council on Accreditation is responsible for evaluating programs and determining their accreditation status. Council members are chosen to serve based on their experience in the fields of veterinary medicine, laboratory animal science or animal research, and their commitment to humane animal care and use.



ACP names internist to state leadership position


Dr. Calvin Thigpen, assistant professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine, has been named governor of the Mississippi Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP), the national organization of internists.

Thigpen's term began during Internal Medicine Meeting 2017, ACP's annual scientific meeting in San Diego March 30-April 1. He also serves as associate program director of internal medicine residency.

Governors are elected by local ACP members and serve four-year terms. Working with a local council, they supervise ACP chapter activities, appoint members to local committees and preside at regional meetings. They also represent members by serving on the ACP Board of Governors.

Thigpen previously served on the Governor's Advisory Council, the Council of Subspecialty Fellows, the Council of Residents and Students and the National Council of Early Career Physicians.