Main Content

Radiation oncologist earns fellowship, residents achieve Gold standard

Published on Thursday, May 19, 2016

Published on May 19, 2016

An assistant professor of radiation oncology will study gamma knife surgery in New York as part of an exclusive fellowship, while six School of Medicine residents receive the Gold standard in teaching excellence at UMMC.



Radiation oncologist one of three Steiner Fellows


Dr. Madhava Kanakamedala, an assistant professor of radiation oncology and a member of several cancer care teams, has been named a 2016 Ladislau and Melita Steiner Fellow.

Kanakamedala will spend three months at New York University's Langone Medical Center studying gamma knife surgery. The Leksell Gamma Knife Society annually funds three international fellowships in honor of Steiner and his wife.

"Your inclusion in the small group of successful applicants is a testament to your hard work and superior academic performance as well as the personal qualities that distinguish you from your peers,” Kanakamedala's acceptance letter reads.

"Dr. Madhava was an exceptional resident and we are pleased he chose to stay at UMMC where he trained,” said Dr. Srinivasan Vijayakumar, UMMC Cancer Institute director and head of the Department of Radiation Oncology. “This fellowship will prepare him to offer even better cancer services to Mississippians.”



SOM residents receive Gold Foundation teaching awards

During the School of Medicine's recent Student Clinician Ceremony, which celebrates the transition of second-year students from their preclinical to clinical years, six residents were honored with the Arnold P. Gold Foundation's Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Selected by third-year medical students, the award recipients demonstrate an enthusiastic commitment to teaching and serve as role models for the compassionate treatment of patients, families, students and colleagues.

The 2016 honorees are Dr. Chance Davis, Dr. Savannah Duckworth, Dr. Ashley Griffin, Dr. Ashley Johnson, Dr. John Rushing and Dr. Diana Tate.