Main Content

Emergency medicine society to honor UMMC faculty

Published on Thursday, March 31, 2016

Published on March 31, 2016

The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine has selected not one, but two Medical Center faculty for prestigious national awards that highlight their contributions and commitment to emergency medicine.  

Jones, Puskarich receive SAEM accolades

Jones_PuskarichDr. Alan Jones, professor and chair of emergency medicine, and Dr. Michael Puskarich, assistant professor and research director of emergency medicine, will receive national honors from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM).

Jones earned SAEM's Excellence in Research Award for his outstanding contributions to emergency medicine through the creation and sharing of new knowledge. These contributions include research accomplishments and service to the profession.

Puskarich earned SAEM's Young Investigator Award for his demonstrated commitment and achievement in research during the early stage of his academic career, including grants, publication records and collaborative efforts with senior investigators.

Jones and Puskarich collaborate on research related to sepsis therapy and outcomes, including l-carnitine treatment and biomarkers of the disease.

SAEM is a national organization of 6,000 members dedicated to the improvement of care of acutely ill and injured patients by improving research and education.

Jones and Puskarich will be recognized at SAEM's national meeting May 11 in New Orleans.