Main Content

Top medical educators garner Evers Awards; graduate student earns Kuckein fellowship

Published on Thursday, April 16, 2015

Published on April 16, 2015

The Carl G. Evers Society honored the School of Medicine's best teachers, administrators and departments, while the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society selected a project by a UMMC graduate student for its highly sought student research fellowship.   

UMMC's top educators receive Evers Society honors

First-place winners of the annual Evers Award
First-place winners of the annual Evers Award

The Carl G. Evers, M.D. Society recognized the achievements of medical school educators, administrators and departments March 30 by presenting its 2015 Evers Awards.

Evers award recipients include, seated from left, Dr. Bela Kanyicska, M1 Professor of the Year; Dr. Davis Manning, representing the M1 Department of the Year: the Department of Physiology; Dr. Stephen Stray, M2 Professor of the Year and representing the M2 Department of the Year: Microbiology; and Dr. Savannah Duckworth, third-year Resident of the Year; and standing from left, Dr. Corey Jackson, M3 Attending of the Year; Jan Simpson, M3 Course Administrator of the Year; Dr. Michelle Horn, representing the M3 and M4 Department of the Year: the Department of Medicine; Dr. Lyssa Weatherly, Fourth-year Resident of the Year; and Dr. Lisa Didion, M4 Attending of the Year.

Established as an honorary and service organization striving to improve medical education at UMMC, the society is named for the late Dr. Carl Evers, who served as professor of pathology and associate dean for academic affairs in the School of Medicine until his death in 1992.

Among the contributors to the society is his wife, Jan Evers, former associate dean of continuing education in the School of Nursing.


AOA awards coveted research fellowship to grad student

Boshen Liu, a graduate student in the School of Medicine, has received a 2015 Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship worth $5,000 from the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society for the project, "Rapid Bone Density Screening of CT Images Using Color Enhanced Detection."

The competitive national award is presented for clinical investigation, basic laboratory research, epidemiology, social science/health services research, leadership or professionalism. The fellowship is named for a longtime administrator of Alpha Omega Alpha and an honorary member of the society who died in 2004.