Main Content

SON earns giving award; UMMC scientists' paper excels

Published on Thursday, April 9, 2015

Published on April 09, 2015

Volunteerism earns statewide kudos for the School of Nursing; UMMC pharmacology faculty team with Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee researchers to produce what a national organization claims is one of its top three recent papers.

Volunteer Mississippi: SON one of state's top GIVErs

The School of Nursing will be among 13 recipients of the 2015 Governor's Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Award during an 11:30 a.m. ceremony Monday, April 13, at the Mississippi Museum of Art.

Volunteer Mississippi, in coordination with the Office of the Governor and First Lady Deborah Bryant, honorary chair of the Voluntary Mississippi Board of Commissioners, will recognize the school's outstanding volunteer service efforts during the luncheon. The School of Nursing will receive the Outstanding Volunteer Outreach by a Healthcare Education Program Award.

SON faculty, staff and students logged more than 10,300 hours of volunteer service in 2014, participating in health fairs, providing health-care screenings and educational programs, and volunteering in free clinics throughout the state. The school also raised more than $27,600 for the Heart Association, Alzheimer's Association, Diabetes Foundation, March of Dimes and other organizations.

David Mallery, executive director of Volunteer Mississippi, called the SON an "extraordinary" example of a commitment to organizational and institutional service.

"Service is part of who we are as Mississippians, and the honorees that will be recognized at the GIVE Awards are continuing a long and stories legacy of volunteerism in the state," Mallery said.

Other 2015 GIVE Award winners include: former First Lady Elise Varner Winter, Lucy Bickham, Doris Griffith Bridgeman, Lynn Gaines, Hayden Gibbons, Wendy Herring, Paula Perry, Ted Riemann, Josephine Pradia Rhymes, Robert L. Salmon, Joan Wilson and Camp Rising Sun.

Physiology society honors UMMC scientists' article

The American Physiology Society recently named an article submitted by UMMC researchers as one of "distinction in scholarship" and among its three best recent papers.

Published in the American Journal of Physiology - Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology, the article, "Impaired Myogenic Response and Autoregulation of Cerebral Blood Flow is Rescued in CYP4A1 Transgenic Dahl Salt-sensitive Rat," was acknowledged by the APS this month.

The article was published by Dr. Fan Fan, instructor in pharmacology and toxicology, Dr. Sydney R. Murphy, assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology, Dr. Mallikarjuna R. Pabbidi, assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology, and Dr, Richard J. Roman, professor of pharmacology and toxicology, in collaboration with Dr. Aron M. Geurts and Dr. Howard J. Jacob of the Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.