Main Content

UMMC's reputation elevated by faculty, staff achievements

Published on Thursday, October 23, 2014

Published on October 23, 2014

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades elevate the UMMC brand among health science centers worldwide.

AO North America names UMMC orthopedist president-elect

Robert A. McGuire Jr., M.D.
Robert A. McGuire Jr., M.D.

Dr. Robert A. McGuire Jr., M. Beckett Howorth Professor and Chair of Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, associate professor of neurosurgery and director of the Orthopedic Surgery Residency Program, has been elected president-elect of AO North America by the organization’s Board of Directors.

McGuire will serve as president-elect through July 1, 2015, when he will begin a three-year term as president of AO America. He will succeed Dr. Michael Baumgaertner, whose term as president will end on July 1, 2015.

“It would be an honor for me to serve as president of AO North America,” McGwire said. “It will be my duty and privilege to preserve all that is right in the organization, to drive AONA to reach new levels of distinction, and to preserve the legacy of excellence in musculoskeletal care as set forth by our founding fathers years ago.”

“Dr. McGwire has the perfect skillset for the job of AONA president,” Baumgaertner said. “Not only is he a proven manager, he demonstrates a clarity of vision of what is great about the AO and for the role AONA must play.

“Most importantly, he has the people skills to sincerely engage with all the different stakeholders that are critical to the continued success of our organization.”

A veteran armed forces health professional of the U.S. Navy, McGuire has been a leader and advocate within the AO since 1985. He has had various leadership roles in AOSpine North America. An AOSpine faculty member since 1993, he has served as chairman of AOSpine from 2006-09 and is a member of the AOSpine International Board, the AOSpine TK Executive Board and chairman of AOSpine TK.