SACSCOC Accreditation

Main Content


The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC):

  • is a national accrediting body.
  • is comprised of institutions in 11 states and some international institutions.
  • is for institutions that award associate, baccalaureate, master's or doctoral degrees.
  • awards accreditation for the campus as a whole.
  • accreditation is required for all discipline-specific accreditations.
  • accreditation is required for federally funded grants and student aid.
  • accredits UMMC as a Level VI campus (> 4 doctorate programs).

SACSCOC process - "The Right Thing to Do"

The SACSCOC principles align with established business practices for improving organizations.

The documentation that SACSCOC requires is needed to provide a consistent framework for institutional operations. The two main documents required for SACSCOC reaccreditation are the Compliance Certification Report and the Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP). Additionally, a Fifth Year Interim Report is submitted mid-cycle.