Main Content

Medical Physics Residency (2-Year) Program

The medical physics residency program, a part of the Mary Bird Perkins Medical Physics Residency Consortium, accepts students who have a degree in physics, engineering or other area of physical science with physics education equivalent to a minor in physics. Applicants must have a strong foundation in basic physics.

The Department of Radiation Oncology meets all the requirements of the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs, Inc. (CAMPEP). The program goal is to train graduates to become employed and for each graduate to demonstrate a prescribed level of professional competence which is conferred by the American Board of Radiology (ABR), the Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine (CCPM), the American Board of Medical Physics (ABMP) and the American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine (ABSNM). This program continues to be committed to its students and follows guidelines to continue to be an accredited educational and training program in medical physics.

Dr. Chunli "Claus" Yang, chief physicist, is affiliate program director for the Mary Byrd Perkins Medical Physics Residency Program, under the guidance of Dr. Srinivasan Vijayakumar, Radiation Oncology chairman.

Applications are accepted though the AAPM Common Applications Program.  

  • Medical physics education residency curriculum: LINK to attached pdf please:

For more information

  • Dr. Chunli “Claus” Yang, Affiliate Program Director
    (601) 984-2550