SGSHS Events

Main Content

Honors Day

sgs-honors-2018_7.jpgHonors Day is held during the spring semester and recognizes the efforts of those students who have graduated or are graduating with Masters and PhD degrees during the current academic year. In addition, the School of Graduate Studies recognizes those who have shown exceptional service and/or research productivity during their graduate careers.

2018 Fundamentals of Physiology Award - Olivia Travis and Madison Crosby 
Awarded for superior scholastic performance in the Fundamentals of Physiology course during the 2017-2018 academic year.

2018 School of Nursing Deans Scholarship - Karen Arrant
Awarded to a doctoral student, this scholarship is based on demonstrated academic excellence, as well as the potential to improve healthcare through the practice of nursing at the highest level of educational and experiential understanding.

2018 Excellence in Pharmacology Graduate Student Award - Venkata Ramana Vaka
This award is presented to a Medical Pharmacology PhD Candidate who has demonstrated academic and research excellence, outstanding professionalism, and service to the UMMC community.

2018 Regions Outstanding Graduate Research Award - Dr. Edward (Drew) Townsend
The Regions Graduate Research Award and cash prize are presented in recognition of outstanding research accomplishments by a Graduate Student.

2018 Trustmark Postdoctoral Publication Awards - Dr. Aleisha Moore and Dr. Omar Logue
This award is in recognition of a single cutting edge publication that served to significantly advance biomedical knowledge with the fellow's area of research.

2018 Randall-Trustmark Outstanding Graduate Research Award - Jessica Bradshaw
The Randall-Trustmark Graduate Research Award and cash prize are presented in recognition of outstanding research accomplishments and scientific contributions by a Graduate Student.

2018 Helen Reeves Turner, M.D., Ph.D. Scholarship Award - Edgar Meyer
Established in 2012 by Dr. Helen Turner, Associate Vice Chancellor Emeritus of Academic Affairs. The award and cash prize are presented to the student who exemplifies superior academic achievement, outstanding service, leadership and overall contribution to healthcare.

2018 Robert A. Mahaffey, Jr. Memorial Award - Dr. Kasi McPherson
Established in the memory of the late graduate student, this certificate and cash prize are awarded in recognition of exceptional research potential of young investigators. The student's name will be added to the Mahaffey Memorial plaque.