Cancer Institute

Main Content

Recent News Stories from Cancer and the Cancer Institute

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Dr. John Ruckdeschel, Cancer Institute director, leads an April 2018 meeting of the Clinical Leadership Council

Improved cancer care through inter-disciplinary communication goal of new committee

Monday, December 17, 2018

Leaders of multiple cancer programs and hospital administrative services that make up the Clinical Leadership Council meet monthly to iron out problems, set standards and map a path to excellence for their patients. The group also is instrumental in helping prioritize budget needs of cancer programs. Read More

Ruckdeschel named to Lung Roundtable

Friday, November 30, 2018

ruckdeschel_john_web.jpgDr. John Ruckdeschel, University of Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Institute director, has been named to the National Lung Cancer Roundtable. Read More

Gibert joins UMMC Cancer Institute

gilbert_yann.jpgDr. Yann Gibert has joined the University of Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Institute as an associate professor in the CI Cancer Molecular Biology Program and as an associate professor in the UMMC Department of Cell and Molecular Biology.

Published on Friday, November 30, 2018

Limits on e-cigarette sales to teens aid nicotine addiction battle

The FDA’s recent proposal to curb the use of e-cigarettes by teenagers by limiting access to their fruity flavors is good news for those who want to keep children tobacco-free. But it really doesn’t go far enough, a UMMC tobacco cessation expert says.

Published on Thursday, November 29, 2018

#WomenWhoCurie highlights female radiation oncologists

UMMC resident Dr. Ashley Albert has helped create a national group focused on increasing female involvement in radiation oncology and has helped organize a social media campaign to help spread the group's message.

Published on Monday, November 19, 2018

UMMC experts: Raising recommended HPV vaccine age range could save lives

When the Food and Drug Administration first approved Gardasil as a vaccine against human papillomavirus, it targeted preteens through age 26. The FDA has raised that ceiling to 45 for both men and women, giving many thousands more who receive the immunization a much greater chance of averting a number of cancers, especially cervical cancer in women.

Published on Thursday, October 18, 2018

Medical Center among ELP research, patent leaders

Published on Monday, October 1, 2018

Morgan joins lung, GI cancer teams

Published on Wednesday, September 26, 2018

American Cancer Society honors Ruckdeschel with St. George Award

Published on Friday, September 21, 2018

Procedure eases complications related to fluid around lungs

Published on Thursday, August 23, 2018

Dr. Laura Newman treats young hematology, oncology patients at alma mater

Published on Thursday, August 16, 2018

Mohs surgery leaves few signs of melanoma

Published on Monday, August 6, 2018

Collier to head Children’s Cancer Center

Published on Thursday, July 12, 2018

Children's Cancer Center sees growth, anticipates changes

Published on Monday, July 9, 2018

Colorectal cancer experts embrace ACS call for earlier screening

Published on Monday, June 4, 2018

UMMC employee donates stem cells to perhaps save a life

Published on Thursday, May 31, 2018

CI leader participates in cancer discussion at Vatican

Published on Monday, May 21, 2018

New process shortens time to breast reconstruction

Published on Thursday, May 3, 2018

Oral cancer patient fights to earn 'Survivor' title

Published on Monday, April 16, 2018

Medicine chair urges DOM researchers to support clinical trials

Published on Thursday, April 12, 2018

UMMC researcher asks colleagues to heed screening call

Published on Thursday, March 22, 2018

Jefferson to lead Head and Neck cancer program

Published on Thursday, March 22, 2018

Milner to co-direct Cancer Institute BMT Service, head CAR-T Service

Published on Thursday, March 22, 2018

Cancer Institute names Orr chair of Interdisciplinary GI program

Published on Monday, February 26, 2018

Payne appointed to national certification committee

Published on Monday, February 26, 2018