Main Content

Experimental Therapeutics

The Experimental Therapeutics program members work to find new drug therapies for cancer and to design more effective drugs that specifically target cancer and are less toxic.

The program most closely unites the Cancer Center and Research Institute’s Drug Discovery Core, a part of the National Center for Natural Products Research at the University of Mississippi, with researchers at UMMC enabling the scientists to find new natural products with anti-cancer properties and test it on specific cancers.

The program unites basic researchers, translational researchers and physicians to more quickly identify and develop new therapies, to make those therapies highly effective and to minimize side effects.  

Dr. Shou-Ching Tang, associate director for clinical and translational research, heads the program. 

Members of this program search for:

  • Molecular and genetic targets, delving into therapies for types of cancer, subtypes and variations within those subtypes in a quest to fully provide personalized medicine.
  • Natural products or components of natural products that have cancer-fighting properties.
  • Natural products or components of natural products that boost the body’s natural cancer-fighting mechanisms.

Scientific members

  • Timothy Allen
  • Premalatha Balachandran
  • Pier Paulo Claudio
  • Anderson Collier
  • Yann Gibert
  • Clark Henegan
  • Ikhlas Khan
  • Richard Roman
  • Kenneth Sufka
  • Chalet Tan
  • Shou-Ching Tang
  • Srinivasan Vijayakumar
  • Larry Walker


  • Marie Barnard
  • Mahavir Chougule
  • Mahmoud ElSohly
  • Mark Hamaan
  • Rahul Khanna
  • Narashima Murthy
  • Ziaeddien Shairiat-Madar

Clinical members

  • Christopher Anderson
  • Mark Anderson
  • Jennifer Barr
  • Christopher Bean
  • Carolyn Bigelow
  • William Black
  • Robert Brodell
  • Barbara Craft
  • Derrick Davis
  • Jared Davis
  • Pierre de Delva
  • Truman Earl
  • Stephanie Elkins
  • Catherine Gordon
  • Robert Hamilton
  • Thomas Helling
  • Vince Herrin
  • Betty Herrington
  • Chad Huckabay
  • Gina Jefferson
  • Cynthia Karlson
  • Felicitas Koller
  • Lana Jackson
  • John Lam
  • Gustavo Luzardo
  • Ben McIntyre
  • Shawn McKinney
  • Melissa McNaull
  • Carter Milner
  • Toby Momah
  • Jacob Moremen
  • Dennis Morgan
  • Laura Newman
  • James Neil
  • Shannon Orr
  • Charles Pound
  • Louis Puneky
  • Mildred Ridgway
  • James Shiflett
  • Grace Shumaker
  • Vani Vijayakumar
  • Chad Washington
  • Kelly Wilkinson

Emeritus members

  • Joe Files
  • David Pasco
  • Tate Thigpen
  • Ralph Vance