About Us

Internal Advisory Committee

The Internal Advisory Committee is comprised of outstanding scientists and clinicians of diverse interest from multiple institutions who assess progress and review the direction of the center on a regular basis.

Richard Summers, MD (Chair), Associate Vice Chancellor for Research. Dr. Summers is an expert in computer modeling and computational physiology.Summers, Richard - suit
Rick Barr, MD, Professor and Chair of Pediatrics, Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education. Dr. Barr is a clinical investigator who has held CTSA leadership positions at Vanderbilt University and Cincinnati Children's Hospital.Barr, Rick - suit
Bettina Beech, MD, Associate Vice Chancellor for Population Health and Professor Pediatrics and Family Medicine.Beech, Bettina - suit
William T. Cefalu, MD, Professor of Medicine and Principal Investigator, Louisiana Clinical and Translational Science (LACaTS) Center. Dr. Cefalu is a translational investigator focused on the mechanisms by which nutritional interventions affect insulin sensitivity and other obesity-related traits.mcctr---cefalu.jpg
Michael D. Forster, PhD, Dean, College of Health, University of Southern Mississippi. Dr. Forster is a social scientist with expertise in community-engaged research on health disparities and social justice.mcctr---forster,-michael.jpg
Jane Reckelhoff, PhD, is a Billy S. Guyton Professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. She is also the director of the Women's Health Research Center and chair of the Biochemistry Department.Reckenhoff, Jane - suit
Richard Roman, PhD, Professor and Chair of Pharmacology and Toxicology. Dr. Roman is a translational investigator with interests in hypertension and diabetic chronic kidney disease.Roman, Richard