SOPH video/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944Mannings for Health2016-04-25-01 $100 campaign for Children’s of Mississippi growth starts with $10 million gift from Sandersons
Published in Alumni Publications on July 01, 2010

Morgan named new chair of OT

By Matt Westerfield

With 103 students currently enrolled, the Occupational Therapy program continues to prepare the next generation of therapists for the high-demand profession. In May, 30 students graduated from the master's degree program.

Did you know?


Dr. Christy Morgan, associate professor of Occupational Therapy, has been named chair of the department.

A faculty member since 2005, Morgan earned her B.S. in occupational therapy at UMMC in 1996. In 2001, she earned her master's degree from Mississippi College, and last year completed her Ph.D. in Clinical Health Sciences at UMMC. Morgan succeeds founding OT chair Bette Groat.

Both faculty and students have been involved in community service activities recently. In June, faculty members Kayla Abraham, Jeff Foster and Peter Giroux, along with several second-year students, provided their expertise in a Health Fair for the Hispanic Community in Canton. A number of second-year students have also participated throughout the summer in the RBI (Returning Baseball to the Inner city) youth program.

Awards and achievements

Faculty members Dr. Dona Lee Andrew, Peter Giroux, Lorraine Street and Carol Tubbs, along with alumni Nicole Coleman, Beth Crotwell and Jessica Stokes presented student/faculty research posters at the national American Occupational Therapy Association Conference in Orlando.

Andrew also made contributions from a previous student/faculty research poster on interprofessional education to an article being published in OT Practice Magazine.

OT graduate Danielle Whittington was selected as this year's Lee Holder Award recipient, a national award given in recognition of excellence in graduate-level allied health education.