Click the links below to find more information:

Residency Application InformationEar, Nose & Throat_defaultStudent CoursesAreas of Giving
  • Department News

    Here's the latest news for the Department of Otolaryngology.

    Otolaryngology residents score in top 5 on American Board of Otolaryngology inservice exams

    2015 OTE Score Graph.jpg

    The Department of Otolaryngology and Communicative Sciences congratulates our residents on their outstanding performance on the 2015 ABOto Inservice Exams. They have consistently scored in the top 10-20% of all residency programs in the nation, but this year, they are in the top 5 programs in the country, with only two programs scoring higher. The graph shows program averages and where our residents scored.

    2015 Resident Match

    Buck, Lauren-web.jpg 
    Lauren Buck
    Curti, Steven.jpg 
    Steven Curti
    On March 20, our department was notified by the National Resident Matching Program that we had matched three outstanding students. Our 2015-2016 resident interns are Lauren Buck from LSU-Shreveport; Steven Curti from the University of Missouri in Kansas City; and Amrita Ray from Michigan State University. The Department of Otolaryngology and Communicative Sciences looks forward to working with this group of physicians.

    Otolaryngology residents accepted to AOA

    Richardson, Matthew_web.jpg 
    Matthew Richardson
    Spencer, James_web .jpg 
    James Spencer
    Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has accepted Dr. Matt Richardson, PGY-5 and Dr. James Spencer, PGY-5. AOA is a professional medical organization that recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. Their values include honesty, honorable conduct, morality, virtue, unselfishness, ethical ideals, dedication to serving others and leadership. We congratulate our doctors on this outstanding honor.

    2015 Lectureship and resident graduation

    2010 Browne, JD 0604.jpgThe 14th Annual Lectureship in Otolaryngology and Communicative Sciences and Resident Graduation was held June 26 and 27, 2015. 

    Dr. J. Dale Browne, professor and chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology at Wake Forest School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, N.C.,  was our visiting professor. His specialty is head and neck surgical oncology and reconstruction.

    Department participation at academy meetings

    Our department was well represented at the September Academy meetings in Orlando, Fla. Six residents and six faculty members participated in the different society meetings. Dr. Andrea Lewis presented a course, and Dr. Randall Jordan and Dr. Scott Stringer presented mini-seminars. Dr. Andrew Nida (PGY-4) had an oral presentation at the American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy meeting. Alumni attendees included Drs. Mary Ashmead, Brad Byrne, Michael Goodier, Jim House, David Moore, Corbin Mullis and Tara Rosenberg.

    Stringer named secretary-treasurer of AAO - HNS

    Dr. Scott Stringer, professor and chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology and Communicative Sciences, has been elected secretary-treasurer of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. The academy is the world's largest organization representing specialists who treat the ear, nose, throat and related structures of the head and neck area. Representing about 12,000 otolaryngologists-head and neck surgeons, it works to advance ethical practice and excellent care through education, research and health policy advocacy.

    Nursing recognition

    Congratulations to Christy Sheppard, Kelli Howard and Nikki Forst who became Certified Otorhinolaryngology Nurses (CORLN) recently. They are the first nurses in our department to achieve this through the Society of Otorhinolaryngology and Head-Neck Nurses. The difficult 250-question certification test focuses on otorhinolaryngological conditions, head and neck conditions and nursing and professional issues. We appreciate their dedication to our patients and to nursing professionalism. They set the bar high for nursing expertise and care in our department.