/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944Mannings for Healthhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vtwv1P4y76U2016-04-25-01 $100 campaign for Children’s of Mississippi growth starts with $10 million gift from Sandersons
  • Wiser Society

     wiser logo"The Winfred L. Wiser Society shall strive to perpetuate his ideals and philosophy in the care of women and to extend his inspiration to other obstetricians and gynecologists."

    The Winfred L. Wiser Society was formed on the 10th anniversary of Dr. Wiser's chairmanship of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. The objectives set forth by the charter members under the direction of Dr. Frank Page and Dr. G. Rodney Meeks were passed by unanimous vote April 18, 1986.

    Winfred L. Wiser, MD - 1926-2006
    Winfred L. Wiser, MD - 1926-2006

    The Society was established to promote the cause and extend the knowledge of obstetrics and gynecology in appreciation of Dr. Wiser's guidance and teaching in the field; to afford an opportunity for members to improve their knowledge of and acquaint themselves with the more recent advances in obstetrics and gynecology through the exchange of professional information related to this specialty; and to provide scholarship funds, lecture sponsorship and research support through the Wiser Society Trust Fund to be established by the membership.

    Membership has grown from 145 charter members to more than 220 active members. The 10th year of the Society was marked with a reunion meeting in 1996. The Winfred L. Wiser Chair of Gynecologic Surgery was established and that time, and efforts to fund the Wiser Chair began.

    Winfred L. Wiser Chair in Gynecologic Surgery

    • G. Rodney Meeks, MD

    Past presidents

    Frank O. Page, MD, Birmingham, AL 
    Martha J. Brewer, MD, New Orleans, LA 
    Joel G. Payne, Jr., MD, Jackson, MS
    John R. Wooley, MD, Jackson, MS 
    Wayne A. Slocum, MD, Tupelo, MS 
    J. Martin Tucker, MD, Jackson, MS
    David G. Helton, MD, Carrollton, GA 

    Judy McDonald, MD, Little Rock, AR

    Mark A. Ray, MD, Tupelo, MS
    Robert S. Cleveland, MD, Dothan, AL 
    D. Paul Seago, MD, Jackson, MS
    James E. Poist, MD, Tuscaloosa, AL
    Stephen T. Box, MD, Johnson City, TN


    Advisory board

    Stephen T. Box, MD, Johnson City, TN
    Frank O. Page, MD, Birmingham, AL
    James E. Poist, MD, Tuscaloosa, AL
    Lisa W. Rogers, MD, Jackson, TN
    D. Paul Seago, MD, Jackson, MS
    J. Martin Tucker, MD, Jackson, MS
    Christopher D. Wiggs, MD, Jackson, MS