Family Medicine News and Recognition

Click the links below to find more information:

Update 2014 AnnouncementWarm blanket, new heart for Port Gibson womanTomorrow. Every Day.Mississippi Miracles Radiothon
  • Family Medicine News and Recognitions



    Williams accepts position at UT (Memphis)

    Congratulations to  Dara Williams, PhD, MPH on her acceptance of a position at the UT (Memphis) Family Medicine program.  Dr. Williams is a senior fellow in the Family Medicine Primary Care Health Psychology.  She will complete her fellowship here at UMC in June 2014.

    Dr. Lucius M. Lampton, UMMC Family Medicine residency graduate, honored as Family Physician of the Year by MAFP

    Dr. Lucius Lampton of Magnolia, was honored as the MAFP Family Physician of the Year during the Annual Meeting. The award is presented annually to the physician contributing the most to the development of Family Medicine in the state. It is known as the John B. Howell Memorial Award and was established in memory of Dr. Howell, a pioneer in the practice of Family Medicine and long-time delegate to the AAFP.

    Lampton was awarded his medical degree from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine in 1993 and stayed on to complete his Family Medicine residency. He is licensed to practice in Mississippi, Louisiana and Ontario, Canada.

    Lampton practices at the Magnolia Clinic and serves as chief of staff and medical director of Beacham Memorial Hospital. A past president of the MAFP, Lampton has been actively involved in the academy over the years and is currently an alternate AAFP delegate.   

    Lampton's dedication to Family Medicine can be seen in his involvement in the establishment of the nationally recognized MS Rural Physicians Scholarship Program, and he continues to serve on the legislative commission which is charged with its oversight. In 2006, he was appointed to the MS State Board of Health by Governor Barbour and was promptly elected chair.

    Lampton is married to the former Louise Lyell of Jackson and they have two sons, Crawford and Garland.  

    Congratulations on service to Family Medicine Department

    •  Dr. Chris Arthur for15 years of service
    •  Dr. Irma Welch for 10 years of service

    Quick Care Clinic relocates to UP Lakeland Medical Center

    The Quick Care Clinic has moved to the second floor (Lakeland Family Medicine Center) of the newly renovated UP Lakeland Medical Center at 764 Lakeland Drive. The clinic is open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Mondays-Fridays. To schedule an appointment, Medical Center employees can call 4-CARE (601-984-2273), a dedicated line through UMMC's Access Center. Walk-ins will be accepted. 

    Family Medicine receives $250,000 Faculty Development Funding from UMMC Graduate

    Family Medicine residents receive honors

    Five family medicine residents were selected by the family medicine faculty to receive awards during the residency's graduation ceremony June 23, 2011.

    Dr. Carlos Latorre recevied the Daniel Mark Pogue, MD, Huminatarian Award, presented each year to a third-year resident for demonstrating compassion, generosity, a positive attitude and humility and for exhibiting dedication to service and a commitment to elevating the values of humanism and professionalism in the field of medicine. Pictured with Dr. Latorre (right) is Mr. Steve Pogue (brother of Mark Pogue) and Mark's mother, Mrs. Jane Joiner.

    Dr. Latorre also received the George Lally Bevill Memorial Fellowship Fund Award, presented to a third-year resident for showing outstanding characteristics in the dedication to and practice of the arts and sciences of medicine and who has demonstrated excellence in leadership, maturity and a strong concern for the welfare of others.

    Dr. Tayaka Jones and Dr. P. Brent Smith received the Gary W. Jefcoats Award, presented each year to two second-year residents for exemplifying outstanding teaching characteristics in the areas of medical student, resident and patient educations.

    Pictured with Dr. Jones (center) are Grant Jefcoats (left) and Gary Jefcoats Jr., sons of Gary W. Jefcoats. Dr. Smith was unable to attend the ceremony.

    Dr. Anthony Chen received the W. R. Gillis Award, presented each year to a first-year resident for best performance in the areas of clinical competence, fulfillment of responsibilities and academic achievement.



    Dr. Sonya Clemmons received the Hardy B. Woodbridge Memorial Award, presented each year to recognize the third-year resident who has demonstrated superior academic achievement throughout the residency.

    Family Medicine resident garners teaching award

    Dr. Carlos A. Latorre, chief resident in the Department of Family Medicine, received the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation during the Student Clinician Ceremony June 6, 2011 at UMMC.

    Third-year medical students choose up to six residents for the award who have exhibited particularly strong teaching skills and are role models for compassionate, relationship-centered care. The foundation provides a $5,000 grant for the award with continuing annual support from any school holding a student clinician ceremony.

    Pfizer/AAFP visiting professorship

    The Department of Family Medicine proudly hosted William K. Mygdal, EdD as a visiting professor May 19-21, 2010. The Department was one of only seven grant awardees in the nation.

    Dr. Mygdal is the former director of the Family Practice Faculty Development Center of Texas and former faculty member at the Waco Family Practice Residency. He is a past president of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine and was the recipient of the Society's Excellence in Education award. He also served on the Academic Council for the AAFP National Institute for Program Director Development.

    Dr. Mygdal has published and presented widely in the area of faculty development and consulted with numerous departments and residency programs.

    During the three days, faculty, residents and fellows participated in sessions related to:

    • The One-Minute Preceptor Teaching Model
    • The Patient-Centered Interview Model
    • Building a Clinical Teaching Team
    • Appreciative Inquiry Skills
    • Conflict Resolution Skills
    • Negotiation Skills
    • Time Management