Family Medicine Update 2017SOPH video/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944Mannings for Health
  • Diane K. Beebe, MD


    Chairman of the Department
    of Family Medicine

    Phone: (601) 815-8775
    Email: dbeebe@umc.edu

    Dr. Diane K. Beebe is professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine since 2007. She earned her MD at the University of Mississippi Medical Center where she also completed her family medicine residency, serving as chief resident her senior year. She joined the faculty in 1987.

    Dr. Beebe is a fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians and a Diplomate of the American Board of Family Medicine. She is past chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education Residency Review Committee for Family Medicine, was a member of the Future of Family Medicine Task Force on Education, the Academic Council for the National Institute for Program Directors Fellowship and the Board of the Annals of Family Medicine. She completed the National Institute for Program Director Development Fellowship Fundamental I and Advance II, AFMRD/AAFP and the Leadership Development for Physicians in Academic Health Centers, the Department of Health Policy and Management and the Center of Continuing Professional Education, Harvard School of Public Health in Boston, MA.

    She serves as a board member and is past chair of the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM). She is a member of the ACGME Milestones Committee for Family Medicine, Medical Assurance Company of Mississippi's (MACM) Risk Management Committee, the Board of the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians, and the Executive Committee of both the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program and the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce, of which she served as interim director in its first year of inception.

    An author of many publications, including chapters in Taylor's Family Medicine and Rakel's Manual of Medical Practice, she has presented nationally and internationally. Named one of the Best Doctors in America since 2002, Dr. Beebe has also been recognized by her residents with the Golden Stethoscope Award for clinical teaching on several occasions over the years and as Outstanding Faculty of the Year for 2005-06. She received the Gold Level Program Director Recognition Award for dedication to family medicine in 2006.

    Prior to serving as chair, Dr. Beebe served as vice chairman of the department since 1996 and program director for twelve years.

    Institutionally, she serves on the Board and Executive Committee for University Physicians as well as on numerous other committees.