Family Medicine News and Recognition

Click the links below to find more information:

Family Medicine Update 2017SOPH video/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944Mannings for Health
  • Academic Awards

    Dr. M. Winter Jackson Medical Scholarship

    This scholarship is awarded to students who plan to specialize in the general or family practice of medicine and based on academic standing , potential for growth and development in the chosen field and need. It is renewable for the fourth year of medical school if the recipient continues to meet the criteria.

    • 2016-2017 recipients: seniors-Amanda Cooley, Caleb Peyton; juniors-Craig Bullock, Mitchell Moore
    • 2015-2016 recipients: seniors-David Green and Brent McCaleb; juniors-Amanda Cooley and Caleb Peyton 
    • 2014-2015 recipients: seniors-Kristie Alvarez, JR Davidson; juniors-Andrew Brown, Daniel Hester

    Dr. and Mrs. Henry O. Leonard Scholarship

    This fund was established in June 1988 in memory of Dr. and Mrs. Henry O. Leonard by Helen G. Snider.  Dr. Leonard was a general practitioner in Coffeeville, MS for many years. Juniors in the School of Medicine who are in good academic standing and have proven financial need are eligible for this scholarship. Two are awarded each year. Recipients must plan to go into the practice of family medicine and must commit to practice in this state for a period of five years following graduation and residency training. 

    • 2017 seniors - William Lee Stephen Morgan and Jackson Brooks Turner; juniors - William Thomas Casey and Jeffery Clinton Pride
    • 2016 seniors - Susan Frichter and Angela Payne; juniors - Brooks Turner and Stephen Morgan
    • 2015 seniors - Emily Brandon and Josh Black; juniors - Susan Frichter and Angela Payne
    • 2014  seniors - Jonathan Buchanan and Micah Walker; juniors - Emily Brandon and Josh Black
    • 2013  senior - John Miller; juniors - Jonathan Buchanan and Micah Walker
    • 2012  seniors - Anna Marie Hailey-Sharp and Matt Murray;  junior - John Miller

    Powell Award for Excellence in Family Medicine

    This award, sponsored by the Department of Family Medicine and the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians, goes to a senior who demonstrated academic excellence and leadership in Family Medicine, and commitment to family practice. The award was established in memory of Dr. John Powell of Houlka, MS, by his wife. It consists of a cash prize and inscription of the student's name on a plaque permanently displayed at the Medical Center. The student also receives free tuition and a two-night stay at the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians' annual Scientific Assembly, where the student will again be recognized.

    • 2017 recipient - Brock Banks
    • 2016 recipient - Jessica Douglas
    • 2015 recipient - Emily Brandon
    • 2014 recipient - Jonathan Buchanan
    • 2013 recipient - Katherine O'Neal Royals
    • 2012 recipient - Anna Marie Hailey-Sharp
    • 2011 recipient - Laura Jackson
    • 2010 recipient - Lauren Treadwell
    • 2009 recipient - Rebecca Rose

    Stanley C. Russell Scholarship

    The Stanley C. Russell Scholarship, in honor of Dr. Stanley Russell, was begun by his family in 2002 in honor of his 70th birthday and is supported through alumni, family and friends of Dr. Russell. This award is given annually to a fourth-year student going into a residency in family medicine. The recipient is chosen by the Department of Family Medicine based on academic excellence, character, bedside manner and commitment to practicing in a rural area in Mississippi. Each recipient should personify the old-fashioned, country doctor approach to patients, delivering excellent medical care and going the extra mile to make the patient feel cared about as a whole person.

    • 2011 recipient - Jeremy Wells
    • 2010 recipient - John Vanderloo
    • 2009 recipient - Bradley Suggs

    Victor W. Yawn Scholarship

    This scholarship honors Dr. Victor Yawn, a family doctor who practiced in south Jackson and served as a part-time faculty member of the Department of Family Medicine. This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student chosen by the Family Medicine Department. (Not given every year)

    • 2010 recipient - Samuel Holdiness