Clinical Science

Click the links below to find more information:

SOPH video/templatefiles/umc_video.aspx?id=2147548944Mannings for Health2016-04-25-01 $100 campaign for Children’s of Mississippi growth starts with $10 million gift from Sandersons
  • Clinical Science Departments

    The School of Medicine offers a four-year course of study leading to the degree of Doctor of Medicine (MD). The course is accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education.

    In the third year of their medical education, students rotate through seven clinical sciences departments - family medicine, internal medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry and surgery. Additionally, students gain exposure to the other clinical science departments through selected electives.

    In the fourth year, students are required to complete a medicine rotation, ambulatory, pediatric and surgery selectives, as well as four electives.

    Students who have earned medical degrees, such as MD or DO, can continue their education through specialized residency programs. Residency is considered a stage of graduate medical training. Residency training may be followed by a fellowship or "sub-specialty" training. Most of UMMC's clinical sciences departments offer residency and/or fellowship programs.

    For more information about specific department, links can be found in the left navigation.