Click the links below to find more information:
Signs of possible sexual abuse: Most victims do not display physical evidence of their abuse because of the body's ability to heal rapidly. However, any genital irritation, infections or painful bowel movements should be investigated immediately. Behavioral signs are more common and can include depression, anxiety, anger, loss of appetite, withdrawal from normal activities, substance abuse, self-mutilation, fear of certain places or people, bed wetting, night sweats, nightmares and thoughts of suicide. Also be aware of sexual acting out and language that is not age appropriate. Signs of physical abuse based on child's appearance:
Call the DHS hotline at 1-800-222-8000.
If the abuse happened within the past 72 hours, take your child to a hospital emergency room. If the abuse happened more than 72 hours ago, DHS, law enforcement or health care providers may request a forensic medical examination at the Children's Justice Center by completing the online referral form.
The Children's Justice Center is located at the Jackson Medical Mall, 350 W. Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39213. It is recommended that all children referred to the Children's Justice Center have a forensic interview at a child advocacy center (CAC). Visit the National Children's Alliance website for phone numbers and addresses for the CACs located in Mississippi.
This is a question you will need to discuss with the prosecutor handling the matter.
The Children's Advocacy Centers and the Batson CARE clinic will assist you in finding counseling for your child.
Financial resources are available if you or your child qualify as a victim of crime. Please contact the Division of Victim Compensation, Office of the Attorney General, to complete an application of eligibility.
Click on any of the links listed below:
You can find the language of the statutes by clicking on the following link and following the instructions: http://www.sos.state.ms.us/ed_pubs/MSCode
Mississippi rape statutes
97-3-65 Statutory rape; enhanced penalty for forcible sexual intercourse or statutory rape by administering certain substances.
Sexual battery; definitions. For purposes of Sections 97-3-5 through 97-3-103 the following words shall have the ascribed herein unless the contest otherwise requires:
For all Mississippi statutes, go to http://www.sos.state.ms.us/ed_pubs/MSCode/
The unconditional age of consent to have sexual intercourse for two individuals who do not suffer from any mental impairment is the age of 16. If a person is over the age of 16, but under the age of 18, there are certain situations in which sexual intercourse is illegal.
2500 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39216
General Information: 601-984-1000
Patient Appointments: 888-815-2005