SOM Academic Affairs


http://youtu.be/Uxk4Dmh1NIIMatch DayTomorrow. Every Day.The Manning Family Fund for a Healthier Mississippi
  • Student Interest Groups

    Below is a list of available Student Interest Groups.

    Click here for the Student Interest Group Registration form.

     

    American Medical Association

    Organization Purpose: To promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health through leadership, excellence, integrity, and ethical behavior.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. John Bethea, jwbethea@umc.edu

    American Medical Student Association

    Organization Purpose: AMSA is committed to improving health care and health care delivery to all people: promoting active improvement in medical education; involving it's members in the social, moral and ethical obligations of the profession of medicine; assisting in the improvement and understanding of world health problems; contributing to the welfare of medical students, premedical students, interns, residents and post MD/DO trainees; and advancing the profession of medicine.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jerry Clark, jclark@umc.edu

    American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)

    Organization Purpose: For nearly a century, the American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) has been committed to the advancement of women in medicine. Although he number of women choosing careers in medicine has grown substantially, there has not been a commensurate increase in the percentage of women in senior leadership positions. To redress this situation, AMWA has carried out ambitious advocacy efforts including research, constituency building, mentoring, leadership development, and policy reform to enable environmental and institutional transformation.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jerry Clark, jclark@umc.edu

    American Physician Scientists Association (APSA)

    Organization Purpose: APSA is dedicated to career development and community building among physician-scientists in training. APSA also strives to be the student physician-scientists' leading voice for improving educational opportunities, advancing patient-oriented research, and advocating for the future of translational research.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Gailen D. Marshall, gmarshall@umc.edu

    Anesthesiology Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To help students gain a better understanding of all the career possibilities within the exciting field of Anesthesiology. The AIG works with the UMC Department of Anesthesiology to help carry out this purpose through informative meetings, activities, and projects that are designed to offer students more exposure to the field of Anesthesiology.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. John Bethea, jwbethea@umc.edu

    Business in Medicine

    Organization Purpose: Awareness of financial and economic issues affecting the practice of medicine.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Scott Stringer, sstringer@umc.edu

    Club Med

    Organization Purpose: To introduce medical students to internal medicine and its subspecialties and to prepare them for clinical studies.

    Officers:

     M4 Representatives: 
        
    Chad Armstrong - M4 
        Thompson Liddell - M4, TLiddell@umc.edu

    M3 Representatives:  
        Jessica Hollingsworth - M3, JWHollingsworth@umc.edu  
        Rae Quigley - M3, rquigley@umc.edu

     M2 Representatives:  
        Carrie Shumaker - M2, cshumaker@umc.edu 
        Sumner Abraham - M2, rabraham@umc.edu

    M1 Representatives:  
        Bailey Hansen - M1, bhansen@umc.edu 
        Justin Watts - M1, jtwatts@umc.edu

     Advisor(s): Dr. Jimmy Stewart, jstewart@umc.edu

     

    Dermatology Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: Provide a support group and community for students considering a career in dermatology. Provide opportunities for students to form productive relationships with other students and members in the field of dermatology.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Nancye McCowan, nmccowan@umc.edu

    Emergency Medicine Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: The purpose of the EMIG is to inform medical students about careers in emergency medicine and introduce then to the residents and faculty in the emergency medicine department as the University of Mississippi. The EMIG meeting include lectures on topics of patient care in the emergency department as well as clinical workshops and guidance about choosing emergency medicine as a career and preparing for an emergency medicine residency.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. John P. Sandifer. Email: jsandifer@umc.edu

    Family Medicine Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To inform medical students about the practice of family medicine and to have a central organization that allows students interested in the field of family medicine to meet and encourage one another.

    Officers:

    • President: Jonathan Buchanan, JMBuchanan@umc.edu
    • Vice President: Emily Brandon
    • Past President: Savannah Duckworth
    • Secretary: Marketta Blue
    • Treasurer: Leah Anderson
    • M4 Representative: Don Gibson
    • M3 Representative: Lauren Gabreski
    • M2 Representative: Summer Bailey
    • M1 Representatives: Amanda Cooley and Hannah Barrett
    • Clinical Skills Coordinator: Anna Gay
    • Residency Fair and Banquet Coordinator: Carolita Heritage
    • Community Service Coordinator: Crystal Wright
    • Fundraising Coordinators: Susan Frichter and Elizabeth Sherard
    • Social Events Coordinator: Ashley Newsome
    • Public Relations Coordinator: Jarrett Morgan

     Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Norris, drnorris@umc.edu

    IHI Open School Chapter

    Organization Purpose: The IHI open school for Health Professions is an interprofessional educational community that gives students the skills to become change agents in healthcare improvements.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jerry Clark, jclark@umc.edu  

    Military Medicine Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: The mission of the MMIG is to equip future military medical professionals with the resources, support and training required to serve as commissioned leaders of character in all branches of the Armed Services.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Michael Nowicki, nmowicki@umc.edu

    OB/GYN Student Interest Group

    OB/GYN Interest Group home page

    Organization Purpose: To foster in interest in the field of OB/GYN and to facilitate a better understanding of the practice of OB/GYN and its specialties through professional contacts, exposure to clinical experience and an accurate representation of the life of an OB/GYN.

    Officers:

     

     Advisor(s): Dr. John Preston Parry, jparry2@umc.edu  

    Ophthalmology Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: Increase the knowledge and understanding of the practice of ophthalmology for the medical student.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. William Watkins, wwatkins@umc.edu

    Organization of Student Representatives

    Organization Purpose: The OSR is the student branch of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The OSR is charged with the representation of undergraduate medical student body of the U.S. to the academic medicine community; the OSR's constituency comprises all medical students. The concerns of the OSR lie exclusively within academic medicine and medical education.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s):  

    Pathology Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To expand awareness and interest among students about the field of pathology and encourage more students to consider Pathology as a career. To allow interested students to make contacts with faculty and residents. To raise awareness among students about the crucial role Pathology plays in modern medical practice.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. William Daley, wdaley@umc.edu

    Pediatrics Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To provide interested medical students with a base understanding of the field of pediatrics, as well as opportunities to assist Batson Children's Hospital.

    Officers:

    Historian: Teresa Moll, tmoll@umc.edu

    Batson Liaison: Steven Wilkening, swilkening@umc.edu

    Treasurer: Matthew Dove, MDove@umc.edu

    PIG Roast Chairs:  

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jeffrey Crout, jcrout@umc.edu

    Psychiatry Student Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To help students gain a better understanding of all the career possibilities within the Psychiatry field. The PSIG works with UMMC Department of Psychiatry to help carry out this purpose through informative meetings, activities, and projects in order to offer students exposure to the Psychiatry field.

    Officers:

    President: Mallory Jacobs, mjacobs@umc.edu
    Vice President: Kathleen Lyons, klyons@umc.edu
    Secretary: Erin Pierce, eopierce@umc.edu
    Treasurer: Doug Pearson, cdpearson@umc.edu
    M2 Rep: Katie Thaggard, kthaggard@umc.edu
    Community Service: Yolanda Ross, yross@umc.edu
    Founder & Club Coordinator: Lakeshia Gibson, lcgibson@umc.edu

    Founding Members:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jon Cory Jackson, jcjackson@umc.edu

    Public Health Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To educate UMMC students on current public health issues and public health oriented careers.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Alan Penman

    Quality Improvement

    Visit Quality Improvement website.

    Organization Purpose: We are here to involve students from the various schools of Health Professions at UMMC to improve healthcare and patient safety at Mississippi's only academic medical center. We work directly with the UMMC office of Quality/Patient Safety, whom we cannot thank enough for their resources and support.

    Officers:

    • President: Bernadette DeRussy
    • Vice President: Elizabeth Bui
    • Secretary/Treasurer: Jeremy Duncan
    • Director of Projects/Research: Wilfreda Lindsey
    • Director of Education: Andrew Bingham
    • Director of Communications: Jordan Ingram
    • School Vice Presidents:
      • School of Medicine: Terica Jackson
      • School of Nursing: Position is open
      • School of Pharmacy: Emily Higdon
      • School of Dentistry: Position is open
      • School of Health Related Professions: Katie Berch
      • School of Graduate Studies: Bernadette DeRussy
       
    • Individual class representatives:
      • School of Medicine:
        • M1: Jason Wheat
        • M2: Andrew Bingham
        • M3: Danielle Parker
         
      • School of Nursing: Jonathan Zaperach
      • School of Pharmacy: Carlos Black
      • School of Dentistry: Position in open
      • School of Health Related Professions: Katie Berch
      • School of Graduate Studies: Bernadette DeRussy
       

    Radiology Interest Group

    Promote communication among medical students and faculty.

    Provide information about careers in Radiology.

    Promote the profession of Radiology.

    Serve the medical school campus.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Erick Blaudeau, eblaudeau@umc.edu 

    Research Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To facilitate the connection of students to researchers at UMC and to educate medical students about research and research opportunities.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Omar Abdulrahman, oabdulrahman@umc.edu

    Secular Student Alliance

    Organization Purpose: The purpose of the Secular Student Alliance is to organize, unite, educate and serve students that promote the ideas of scientific and critical inquiry, democracy, secularism and human-based ethics. We envision a future in which nontheistic students are respected voices in public discourse and vital partners in the secular movement's charge against irrationality and dogma.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Jerry Clark, jclark@umc.edu

    Student Cardiology Group

    Organization Purpose: To increase awareness and education of the field of cardiology to students and to the community at large. To give students the opportunity to network with cardiologists, gain experience with clinical skills, scientific research, and to participate in conferences and symposiums.

    Officers:

    Treasurer: Jordan Ingram, jbingram@umc.edu

    Community Director and Secretary: Cherie Dahm, cdahm@umc.edu

    Advisor(s): Dr. Thomas Skelton, tskelton@umc.edu

    Students for LGBT

    Organization Purpose: provide social and professional support for LGBT students, and inform students of LGBT health disparities and inequalities.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Erick Blaudeau, eblaudeau@umc.edu

    Student National Medical Association

    Organization Purpose: Student National Medical Association (SNMA) is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians. SNMA programs are designed to serve the health needs of underserved communities and communities of color. This organization is also dedicated both to ensuring that medical education and services are culturally sensitive to the needs of diverse populations and to increasing the number of students of color entering and completing medical school.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Roderick Gilbert, rgilbert2@umc.edu

    Surgery Interest Group

    Organization Purpose: To foster an interest in the field of surgery and to facilitate a better understanding of the practice of surgery through professional contacts or exposure, and an accurate representation of the lifestyle of a surgeon.

    Officers:

    Advisor(s): Dr. Curt Tribble, ctribble@umc.edu

    Wilderness Medicine Student Interest Group

    Organization purpose: The purpose of this organization is to advance healthcare, research, and education related to wilderness and outdoor related medicine.

    Officers:

    Advisors(s): Dr. Jerry Clark, clark@umc.edu