Academics


University Heart Grand OpeningMatch DayTomorrow. Every Day.The Manning Family Fund for a Healthier Mississippi
  • What Our Graduates Are Doing

    Here is what some of our graduates are doing since they've completed our program:

    • Hannah J. Broome, PhD, 2013. Research associate with Michael Ryan, Department of Physiology, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: HJohnson@umc.edu.
    • Daniel Lyons, PhD, 2013. Medical student, Class of 2017, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: dlyons@umc.edu.
    • Leslie Robinson Walker, PhD, 2013. Research associate with Drazen Raucher, Department of Biochemistry, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: lrrobinson3@umc.edu.
    •  Scoty Hearst, PhD, 2012. Research associate with Parminder Vig, Department of Biochemistry, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: shearst@umc.edu.
    • Payal Vyas, PhD, 2012. Research associate, Harvard University.
    • Shama Moktan, PhD, 2011. Research associate with Drazen Raucher, Department of Biochemistry, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: smoktan@umc.edu
    • Nafez Abu Tarboush, PhD, 2011. University of Jordan, Department of Biochemistry, School of Medicine. E-mail: nafeztarboush@yahoo.com
    • Sooim Shin, PhD., 2011. Research associate with Victor Davidson, University of Central Florida, Biomedical Sciences.
    • Moonsung Choi, PhD, 2011. Research associate with Victor Davidson, University Central Florida, Biomedical Sciences.
    • Andrew Gilder, PhD, 2011. Research associate with Joe Maher, UMMC Cancer Institute, Jackson, MS. E-mail: agilder@umc.edu.
    • Emily Thomas, MS, 2010. Medical student at Yale University.
    • Lakshman Varanasi, PhD, 2010. Research associate with Luis Martinez, Department of Biochemistry, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: lvaranasi@umc.edu
    • Audie Thompson, PhD, 2010. Visiting assistant professor, Prairie View A&M
      University, Department of Biology.
    • P. Holland Alday, MD, PhD, 2009. Resident, Utah Health Sciences Center, Salt
      Lake City, Utah. E-mail: holland@bipedal.net
    • John Ma, PhD, 2006, MD, 2009. House officer, Department of Radiation Oncology, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: jma@umc.edu
    • Eric George, PhD. 2009. Instructor, Department of Physiology, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: egeorge@umc.edu
    • Valeria Cucciarelli, MS, 2008. Medical science liaison with Boehringer Ingelheim's
      Medical Affairs Department, Denver, CO. E-mail: v_cucchiarelli@hotmail.com
    • Tingfeng Li, 2008. Post-doctoral fellow, Tulane University.
    • Iqbal Massodi, PhD, 2008. Post-doctoral research fellow, Wellman Center for
      Photomedicine, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA.
    • Angela Reiken, PhD, 2008. Assistant professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Mississippi College, Clinton, MS. E-mail: reiken@mc.edu
    • Ashish Aggarwal, PhD, 2007, Pharmacist at Wal-Mart. E-mail: ashish0415@yahoo.com.
    • Sheetal Bhan, 2007. Post-doctoral fellow, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD.
    • Gene Bidwell, PhD 2007. Assistant professor, Department of Neurology, UMMC,
      Jackson, MS. E-mail: gbidwell@umc.edu; web page: http://cancerinstitute.umc.edu/profiles/bidwell_gene.html
    • Xianghui Li, 2007. Staff scientist, New England Biolabs, Shanghai R&D Center,
      Shanghai, China.
    • Sandy Negi, PhD, 2006. Post-doctoral fellow, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD.
    • Dan Yellajoshyula, PhD, 2006. Research associate, Department of
      University of Michigan.
    • Xiaochun Shi, PhD, 2006. Research associate, James Graham Brown Cancer Center, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY.
    • Nian Huang, PhD, 2004. Research associate, Dr. Hong Zhang, Department of
      Biochemistry, UTSW Medical College, Dallas, TX.
    • Asmita Kumar, PhD, 2004. Alfred I. DuPont Hospital for Children, Nemours Research Foundation, Department of Human Genetics, Wilmington, DE.
    • Yongting Wang Sun, PhD, 2004. Associate professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China. Web site: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/yongting-wang/27/243/82a 
    • Christopher Sontag, PhD, 2003. Research associate with Claire Walczak, Indiana University School of Medicine.
    • Dapeng Sun, PhD, 2002. General manager, New England Biolabs, Shanghai R&D
      Center, Shanghai, China.
    • Sid De, PhD, 2001. Assistant director at Advinus Therapeutics – A TATA Enterprises.
    • Akash Gunjan, PhD, 2000. Assistant professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Florida State University. E-mail: akash.gunjan@med.fsu.edu
    • Melyssa Bratton, PhD, 2000. Manager, Cell and Mecular Biology Core Laboratory, Xavier University, New Orleans Mbratton@xula.edu
    • Hongzhi "Howard" Xu, MS, 2000; PhD, 2006, UMMC. Statistical research
      coordinator, University of Florida. 
    • Kamini Hingorani Varma, PhD, 2000. Senior scientist, Advanced Manufacturing and Development Group Applied Biosystems, Foster City, CA.
    •  Rajesh Satish Savkur, PhD, 1999. Scientist I, PTC Therapeutics, South PLainfield, NJ. E-mail:  rsavkur@ptcbio.com
    • Zhenyu Zhu, PhD, 1999. Research scientist, New England Biolabs, Beverly,
      MA
    • Zhi Hong Lu, PhD, 1999. Research associate, Washington University School of
      Medicine, St. Louis, MO
    • Rajan Munshi, PhD, 1998. Scientific review manager Center for Peer Review & Science Management Health & Civil Services Sector, SRA International, Inc.
    • Reid Bishop, PhD, 1997. Belhaven College, Department of Biology. E-mail: Rbishop@belhaven.edu or greidbishop@gmail.com
    • Fenfei Leng, PhD, 1997. Associate professor, Department of Chemistry, Florida
      International University, Miami, FL. E-mail: lengf@fiu.edu; web site:
      http://www2.fiu.edu/~lengf/
    • Barbara Alexander, PhD, 1997. Associate Professor, Department of Physiology,
      UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: balexander@umc.edu
    • Bojana Vulevic, PhD, 1997. OSI Pharmaceuticals, 2860 Wilderness Place, Boulder, CO. E-mail: bvulevic@osip.com
    • Liliana Falzon, PhD, 1996. Post-doctoral fellow with Masayori Inouye, Department of Biochemistry, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Piscataway, NJ.
    • Bettye Sue Hennington, PhD, 1995. Associate professor, Tougaloo College, Tougaloo, MS. E-mail: bhennington@tougaloo.edu
    • Stanley Smith, PhD, 1995. Assistant professor, Department of Pharmacology,
      UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: svsmith@umc.edu
    • Rosemary Hoffman, PhD, 1995. Adjunct professor, Health Sciences, Weber State, Utah. E-mail: Rhoffman@weber.edu.
    • YoungLan Hyun, PhD, 1995. Assistant professor of chemistry, Korea University
      Medical School, Seoul, Korea.
    • Natasha Vijay, MCS, 1994. Assistant professor, Cass Business School, City
      University, London, UK. E-mail: n.munshi@city.ac.uk
    • Thomas K. “T.K.” Harris, PhD, 1994. Associate professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine, Miami, FL. E-mail: tkharris@miami.edu
    • Yungao Ding, PhD, 1994. Medical resident, Department of Radiology, St. Elizabeth Health Center, Youngstown, Ohio.
    • Harold Brooks, PhD, 1994. Research scientist, Eli Lily, Indianapolis, IN.
    • Dunrui Wang, PhD, 1994. Research scientist, Hyseq Inc., Sunnyvale, CA.
    • Julio Herrera, PhD, 1993. Head, Protein Expression, Cell Signaling Technology, Inc., Danvers, MA. E-mail: julio.herrera@cellsignal.com
    • Amy H Herrera, MS MCS, 1993. Research assistant, II-Flow Cytometry NeoStem, Cambridge, MA. E-mail: aherrera@neostem.com
    • Dong Chul Suh, PhD, 1993. Research scientist, CHA Medical College, Pochun, South Korea.
    • Jacquelyn Trina Kuriger, MCS, 1992. Scientist, Masonic Cancer Center, UMN Twin Cities. E-mail: jkuriger@umn.edu
    • Lizabeth Brumley, MCS, 1992. Housewife and teacher, Laurel, MS. E-mail: mlbrum@bellsouth.net
    • Jinyun Wu, MCS, 1991. Research scientist, Industrial Research, Cleveland, Ohio.
    • Indira Fernandes, MCS, 1990. Research scientist, Pharmaceutical Research, Boston, MA.
    • Jin-Hong Chang, PhD, 1990. Instructor of ophthalmology, Dana Farber Cancer
      Center, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA. 
    • Pei-Kan Chang, PhD, 1990. Assistant professor, Nihon University, Kanagawa, Japan.
    •  Sridhar Viswanathan, PhD, 1989. Research scientist, Coulter Pharmaceuticals, San Francisco, CA.
    •  Yih-Sheng Yang, PhD, 1989. Assistant professor of internal medicine, Southwestern Medical School, Dallas, TX.
    • Tamba Dumbar, Ph.D, 1989. Research scientist, Rhone Polenc Rorer, King of Prussia, PA.
    • David Brown, PhD, 1988. Professor of biochemistry, UMMC, Jackson, MS. E-mail: dbrown@umc.edu
    • Hank Daum. Technology consultant, Epicentre Technologies. E-mail: hank.daum@epicentre.com
    • William W. Roth, PhD, 1988. Department of Microbiology, Biochemistry and Immunology. Lab leader, sequencing lab, gene profiling core, Morehouse School of Medicine. E-mail: wroth@msm.edu