Academics


University Heart Grand OpeningMatch DayTomorrow. Every Day.The Manning Family Fund for a Healthier Mississippi
  • Student Profiles

    Hanna J. Broome 

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: Mississippi College
    • Undergraduate degree: Biology
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Characterization of the nuclear protein coilin: Mechanism of differential phosphorylation during the cell cycle and possible enzymatic function in vitro" 
    • E-mail: hjohnson@umc.edu

    Zunamys I. Carrero

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez
    • Undergraduate degree: Industrial biotechnology
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "The role of phosphorylation in regulation of Coilin activity" 
    • E-mail: zcarrero@umc.edu

    Krishna Chauhan

    • Country of origin: Nepal 
    • Undergraduate degree: Biotechnology
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  "Stem cells and osteosarcoma" 
    • E-mail: kchauhan@umc.edu

    Isioma Enwerem

    • Country of origin: Nigeria/Zimbabwe
    • Graduate: Spelman College and Jackson State University
    • Undergraduate degree: Chemistry
    • E-mail: ienwerem@umc.edu

    Thomas Flanagan                  

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: Mississippi State University
    • Undergraduate degree: Biological sciences
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Prothymosin alpha's deposition of the linker histone H1 onto chromatin impacts DNA compaction"  
    • E-mail: tflanagan@umc.edu

    Jianguo Huang

    • Country of origin: 
    • Graduate:  
    • Undergraduate degree:  
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  
    • E-mail:

    Daniel Lyons         

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: Belhaven College
    • Undergraduate degree: Chemistry
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Biophysical characterization of an elastin-like-polypeptide 
    • E-mail: dlyons@umc.edu

    Pratirodh Koirala

    • Country of origin: Nepal
    • Graduate: Tribhuvan University Kirtipur Nepal
    • Undergraduate degree: Microbiology
    • Project name: Undeclared
    • E-mail: pkoirala@umc.edu

    Marija Kuna

    • Country of origin: Croatia 
    • Graduate: University of J.J. Strossmayer in Osijek 
    • Undergraduate degree: Biology 
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Toxicity assessment of pesticide using microbiotests and their usefulness in environmental impact studies" 
    • E-mail: mkuna@umc.edu

    Yin Liu           

    • Country of origin: 
    • Graduate:  
    • Undergraduate degree:  
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  
    • E-mail:

    Virginia Newman                           

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: Williams College
    • Undergraduate degree: Chemistry
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:
    • E-mail address: vnewman@umc.edu

    Sambad Sharma

    • Country of origin: Nepal   
    • Graduate: Kathmandu University, Nepal
    • Undergraduate degree:      
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  
    • E-mail: ssharma@umc.edu

    Kristin Shirey 

    • Country of origin: USA   
    • Graduate: Jacksonville State University   
    • Undergraduate degree: Biology and chemistry; minor in physics
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Mechanisms of alterations of mitochondrial energy transduction by clinical therapeutics" 
    • E-mail: kshirev@umc.edu

    Ramesh Singh 

    • Country of origin: India
    • Graduate: Uttar Pradesh Technical University, India, and Manipal University, India
    • Degrees: BS, Pharmacy; master's degree, pharmaceutical biotechnology
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: Undeclared
    • E-mail: rsingh@umc.edu

    Maryam Syed 

    • Country of origin: India (US permanent resident)
    • Graduate: Mississippi State University
    • Undergraduate degree: Biochemistry
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: Undeclared
    • E-mail: msyed@umc.edu

    Leslie Robinson Walker                     

    • Country of origin: USA
    • Graduate: Mississippi College
    • Undergraduate degree: Chemistry
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: Thermally Targeted Delivery of Anti-Cancer Therapeutics.
    • E-mail address: lrwalker@umc.edu

    Kerui Wu 

    • Country of origin: 
    • Graduate:  
    • Undergraduate degree:  
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  
    • E-mail:

    Fan Yang       

    • Country of origin: China 
    • Graduate: Chongqing University, China
    • Undergraduate degree: Engineering
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "Regulation of long noncoding RNA by miR17"
    • E-mail: fyang3@umc.edu                                

    Chong Yin      

    • Country of origin: 
    • Graduate:  
    • Undergraduate degree:  
    • Project name or eventual thesis title:  
    • E-mail:                       

    Valeria Zai-Rose

    • Country of origin: Romania
    • Graduated University of Texas at Austin (August 2011)
    • Undergraduate degree: Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry
    • No thesis title at this time 
    •  email addresses: vzairose@umc.edu  

     Nanjiang Zhou 

    • Country of origin: China
    • Graduate: Nanjing University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, China
    • Undergraduate degree: Medicine
    • Project name or eventual thesis title: "A genetic selection system for microRNA targets identification and verification"
    •  E-mail: nzhou@umc.edu